Pentium 4 524 (Prescott) + SiS 300 and Windows 10...can it be done ?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by itsmemario1, Nov 17, 2019.

  1. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    #1 itsmemario1, Nov 17, 2019
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2019
    Im trying to install Windows 10 on this machine :

    A lenovo 870176G Desktop Computer.

    CPU: Pentium 4 Prescott CPU (3,06GHz)
    Graphics: SiS330 Integrated Mirage Graphics
    Chipset : SiS 662 + 966
    RAM: 2 GB

    I installed Windows 10 on quite some old machines in the past and as I understood, this P4 supports the NX bit.
    So Windows 10 should be fine.

    Windows 10 does install, but keeps rebooting with the "something went wrong" message on the 1st boot.

    Windows 8.1 (32bit) installs fine and boots into the OS as well.

    Installing the SiS330 graphics seems to be impossible though...I tried all drivers in compatibility mode and even tried manual installation.

    Watched many videos and googled a lot today...and as usually ended up here. ;)

    I guess the problem is the SiS graphics. But as 8.1 works, I wonder if there is a way to force Win 10 to boot.

    Update:
    I installed "Windows 10 (IoT) Enterprise LTSC 2019 (x32)" and it installed and booted just fine.

    You can use Office, FireFox, vlc-player...nice and simple Office PC. :p

    The x64 variant did not work.

    The "Microsoft Display Adapter" is still shown in the device manager, so the SiS graphics are the final "problem". :)

    I could then use a Win 10 (1809) x32 DVD to "upgrade" the installed IoT to "Pro".(changing the EditionID via the registry before!)

    I could install all updates, until 1909...the 1909 finally made old Pentium 4 crash again...because of the SiS.
     
  2. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    you already try change config in group policy related to driver compatibility when using W10...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    #5 itsmemario1, Nov 18, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2019
    (OP)
    Thanks for the reads. Seems like "some" Prescotts P4s will not really work.

    As in addition to the NX bit, the CPU would need the CPU instructions CMPXCHG16b, PrefetchW, and LAHF/SAHF, if installing the 64 bit version of Windows 10.

    Sadly I only see "CMPHXCHG8B" and the "NX Bit" using HWiNFO 32.

    No CMPXCHG16B, which is an extension of the CMPHXCHG8B instruction, no Prefetch and no LAHF/SAHF.



    Im sure I tried the 32 bit version of Windows 10...but then again, Im not.

    -So while I type, I will install Windows 10 Pro 32bit from within Windows 8.1 now.

    -Setup starts without errors or SSE2/NX bit messages...5%...10%...etc.

    -It finally reaches 100%, reboots and starts to boot into Windows 10 "Update process" aka.
    please dont turn off your PC.

    -Somewhere around 20% the PC restarts...says something went wrong..."trying to fix installation, reversing changes" etc. etc. etc...

    -It reboots into, what looks like the original Windows 8.1 final installation screens... ? @_@

    It finalizes with a "Windows 10 could not be installed"
    0xC1900101 - 0x30018
    FIRST_BOOT while SYSPREP_SPECIALIZE an error occured.

    Googled that already. There is no BIOS update and I will now delete the software distribution folder.

    p.s.

    I cant use "Group Policy", as I wont make it into Windows 10. It crashed before and reboots.
     
  5. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    #7 itsmemario1, Nov 18, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2019
    (OP)
    Thanks, I didnt know there was a CPU Identification tool by intel. :)

    I deleted the SoftwareDistribution Folders in Windows 8.1 now and started the Windows 10 setup from within 8.1 again.

    "Dont turn off your PC" now goes to 30% and reboots, to actually continue at 30%...and stay at 30%...jumping to 54%...screen flicker...a problem arised... :S

    Next step :
    Disable the OnBoard sound and LAN and unplug the front USB...Enabling "Legacy Free" Mode...

    and then there is "Set Max Ext CPUID = 3 [Disabled]

    That option is only useful if you are using an operating system that does not recognize all of the features of your processor. I don't know exactly why your OS is slowed down by enabling it, but since it's windows XP, which has no problems with E5450, you will probably never need to have it enabled anyway.

    So many options left... x'D

    Ok, it wont install. -_-

    And the intel tool....


    lol.JPG


    You have to go to Tools and "disable" the "Stop on Fail" thing. Then all tests will run.



    And the intel CPU identifier wants to start the net framework web installer... ;O...
     
  7. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,757
    815
    120
    P4 dont support NX so thats a no go.
     
  8. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    Now I remembered when the Windows 10 version was launched 10.240 I also installed in several P4 smoothly only really can not state the specification of each cpu although all systems worked well except for a few memory problems or video drivers
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    I also suspect the SIS graphics...but the missing instructions of the CPU could be the culprit as well.

    Then again, the installation went way too far to be CPU related in my opinion.

    Ill go for a cheap graphics card and disable the SIS in the BIOS.

    To be continued...
     
  10. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    I wish you good luck :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. RJARRRPCGP

    RJARRRPCGP MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    300
    35
    10
    #13 RJARRRPCGP, Nov 20, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
    The RAM is possibly unstable. Especially with it rebooting unexpectedly and then Windows saying that it's rolling back on reboot. That can happen when it fails with the dreaded "PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA" BSOD (Or "BAD_POOL_HEADER" BSOD, IIRC)
    (Or GSOD)

    I saw that on Windows 7 SP1, not to long ago, because of my socket 1366 motherboard change, made me lose RAM stability with the same extra RAM that was OK before! Looks like a bad RAM slot or other connection somewhere on the motherboard, at least if I use more than the 3 slots that defines triple channel and add a stick to one of the black slots, which was OK with my Asus P6T Deluxe, but hasn't been OK, with my Asus P6T6 WS Revolution!

    I'm pissed! Because that's with the same frequency and the same timings, which are 9-9-9-24!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. WindowsGeek

    WindowsGeek MDL Addicted

    Jun 30, 2015
    846
    170
    30
    I agree P4 computer and windows 10 what nightmare.
     
  13. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    We are all aware, this beeing a nigthmare.
    But thats not what this thread is about. :)

    We know old P4s dont support Windows 10 at all.
    But thats not what this thread is about. :)

    We know "newer" P4s do fully support Windows 10...and it actually makes a nice Office machine then.
    Thats what this thread is about. :)
     
  14. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    4,919
    5,849
    150
    go ahead brother what he commands is at your disposal to use Windows with this hardware...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    Update :

    While experimenting a bit more...I just successfully installed "Windows 10 IoT Enterprise LTSC (x32)" on this old Pentium and it boots fine. =)

    No warnings or errors on installation. Looks and works just like "normal" Windows 10 for now.
    Installed and tested Winrar and Firefox 71 so far. All working.

    I will try to install the x64 variant of this IoT version asap and then enforce the graphics driver installation again.

    Merry Christmas to me ! ;D
    (and thanks to this forum!)
     
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,527
    45,684
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    467
    58
    10
    But what exactly makes Windows 10 (Home, Pro, Edu, etc.) crash on this Pentium (yes, I know, its the old SiS graphics) but Windows 10 Enterprise installing just fine ?

    Or shall I ask...what exactly is missing from LTSC, apart from Cortana'n stuff, that makes Windows 10 possible on this Pentium ?

    Quite interesting, I think.