Pidgin question

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by morphism, Dec 10, 2012.

1. morphism

morphism MDL Novice

Dec 10, 2012
    Hello,

I'm new here, so I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place.

Recently, I've been having some proxy issues, and unfortunately, being as I'm very new to PCs (...and to this Website) I don't know how to fix the issue.

I installed tor. Once I did that, I had a whole SLEW of problems, one of which was that Firefox would not connect to the Internet.

However, Google Chrome WOULD connect. So, I re-installed Firefox, and the problem went away. Before re-instal, it said that it could not connect to the Internet due to a proxy issue.

Now however, Pidgin will not work at all. It keeps giving me this message:

:death:INVALID PROXY SETTINGS
    Either the host name or port number specified for your
    given proxy type is invalid

Neither my XMPP nor my AOL accounts will work.

Any ideas, folks?

Oh, and also; if you saw my message in the introduction area, you'd know that I don't plan on fixing this issue and then jumping off this website. I plan on staying around for a long time, and becoming a part of the community. So, you won't be wasting your time helping someone fix a PC issue who will then just run off like a lot of people do.

Thank you for at least reading my questions!

All the best,

Morphism

2. morphism

morphism MDL Novice

Dec 10, 2012
    I want my IM software to work again.

I would also like to know why Firefox would not connect to the Internet until I re-installed it and uninstalled tor, while at the same time Chrome would connect just fine.

Also, before I re-installed Firefox and uninstalled tor, I pinged to google, (...just to see if I could get ANY back-and-forth) and it worked as it should... but I could not ping to pidgin (the server for my XMPP account).

MOREOVER, I could not ping to aol. Shouldn't I be able to ping to aol?

Anyway: