Pin Notepad to Start Menu + Taskbar Registy

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by tnx, Jan 16, 2014.

Tags:
  1. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Hi.

    Been messing about making myself a new Win 7 install image. Using DISM to add all the usual stuff including my fav reg edits so things are just how I like it from the start.

    Apart from two things I find myself doing. That is pinning Notepad to the Start Menu and the Taskbar.

    I have been searching about trying to find the registry keys for this but coming up blank.

    So can anybody point me in the right direction for this please..:biggrin:
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    Have you not tried some registry scanning programs take system snapshot before you pin Notepad to the Start Menu and the Taskbar and then take snapshot after and compare results.
     
  3. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60

    Nope I have not. Seems like a plan. Snapshot you say....Will go look.:)
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    search for installwatch pro and Regshot P.M sent as regards to installwatch pro.

    P.S> i still to this day use installwatch pro it saves regisrty entries as reg file not like some other who just give you out put of changes.
     
  5. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,834
    1,748
    180
    Lots of info on Google about pinned items (quite few good threads & explanations). Not easy but possible. Pity MS did not make any simple way to pin items via GPO
     
  6. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    #6 Aninvitedsoul, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,384
    15,041
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    Ya,I got it wrong.I was just waking up and drinking tea. :tea:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Cheers

    :cool:
     
  10. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    #10 tnx, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
    (OP)
    I just had a thought. Maybe I am going about it the wrong way.

    On my iPad at the mo so can't test it just yet but I am going to look in this DIR

    C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned

    Gunna look in there and see what shortcuts are there, unpin Notepad and then see what happens in that folder.
    If this folder holds shortcuts and all pinning does is makes shortcuts in this folder it maybe possible to open this folder in a mounted image and place shortcuts there, unmount and test what happens.

    Worth a look and worth testing out. :tea:


    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup.
     
  11. leebo_28

    leebo_28 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 12, 2011
    459
    169
    10
    #11 leebo_28, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
    it does add shortcut to /user pinned/taskBar

    also adds Notepad.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,-22051 to desktop.ini in same folder.

    Might need to add both to work on mounted Image.
     
  12. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Sounds like a nice bit of info. Thanks very much.:cool:
     
  13. leebo_28

    leebo_28 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 12, 2011
    459
    169
    10
    Mounted image and checked the directory , and it stops at quicklaunch..added my userpinned/taskbar folder with notepad pinned ,saved and unmounted. fresh install had shortcut and desktop.ini correct in folder but didn't show up on taskbar. Back to square one I guess
     
  14. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,834
    1,748
    180
    #15 sebus, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  15. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Nice test there.

    :biggrin:

    Thanks for helping.
     
  16. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    #17 tnx, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  17. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Just been looking through my files on my working OS. ( Win 7 x64 )

    Got these two DIR

    I have just mounted an image and looked through the mounted files.

    Found this DIR

    While this image was mounted I made a new shortcut for notepad. Did it through the context menu and navigated to the mounted image Windows\notepad.exe.

    I have unmounted with commit. Re-mounted and the notepad shortcut was still there so that bit is ok.

    I am now gunna test and see what happens.

    If this does not work I already have a runonce pointing to a .vbs pointing to a .cmd file which makes shortcuts onto my Desktop.
    It maybe have to be summet similar to make links into these two folders

    I love this messing about lark...:biggrin:
     
  18. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Just to add

    I have been pinning, unpinning notepad from the Taskbar and checking that folder. The shortcut gets added or deleted accordingly. It seems it it just a matter of creating the shortcut at install..:cool:
     
  19. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,601
    228
    60
    Got the same result. To be honest I sort of knew it would not have worked. But I had to try.:rolleyes:

    I have this coding been called from a runonce

    It makes nice shortcuts onto my desktop from the start.

    So I will amend it, add another runonce and test it out..:)