Please help, this is doing my head in!

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by kel1981, Jan 30, 2014.

1. kel1981

kel1981 MDL Novice

Jan 30, 2014
    Ok, I bought a HP Pavilion s7000 slimline PC for my daughter for Christmas (it was second hand)

It has Vista installed and it runs slow, has a lot of crap on it too. I've now found out that the version of Vista is not genuine.

There is a serial key on the side for Windows XP Media Centre Edition 2005 and I want to install it.

I've been told I need OEM discs but I can't find them anywhere, I've looked online for the last month and found nothing.

Any help at all would be much appreciated.

2. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007
  3. kel1981

kel1981 MDL Novice

Jan 30, 2014
    Cheers urie for the response!

Can I burn these to a DVD-R? Also will the restore disc delete Vista?

I'm no expert, as you might have guessed lol

4. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007
  5. kel1981

kel1981 MDL Novice

Jan 30, 2014
    Hi, I've done the disc and it goes to XP setup but says there are no partitions to install.

This is driving me bloody mental.

6. jellybelly

jellybelly MDL Member

Oct 30, 2009
    The key on the side of the laptop is a retail key, meaning when you install XP you will have to enter that key, and if it's already been activated a number of times it will block it until you call Microsoft.. so just be aware that this may not be the end of your problems. You're better off getting a corporate type of XP disc (commonly seen as a "student edition" or similar) which won't use that key and will install OK.

As for the partitions, you may have to delete what's there and start from an empty hard drive.. not sure why it's doing that, Vista did not use any sort of special partition type.. XP should be able to format the existing partition and install over it.

7. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011