Please help...windows 7 screwed up after failed xp install

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by majic723, Oct 7, 2009.

1. majic723

majic723 MDL Novice

Oct 6, 2009
    Hi guys, i could really use some help. I have been using Windows 7 x64 for a couple months now and that is the only os i have on my pc. Well my job now requires that i have xp, so i created a partition and tried to install xp x86 on to it. It created all the files and then had to reboot. When it rebooted nothing would happen. It wouldn't boot from either partition and all it will do is rerun the xp disc which doesn't seem to get me anywhere. It won't even recognize my Windows 7 disc. I have no idea where to go from here, any help is appreciated. TIA

2. Reign_Of_Freedom

Reign_Of_Freedom MDL Expert

Aug 1, 2009
    I would Wipe and Reload. Install Xp first then Windows 7 on the other partition. Maybe some of the other members here can point you in the right direction for a fix. Anytime i've had an issue like yours i just reformatted easier to do IMO.

Have you tried to run the Win 7 Repair Option?

3. twiz

twiz MDL Senior Member

Jul 30, 2009
    Put in your Windows 7 CD and repair the boot record.
    From the recovery console, type "bootrec.exe /fixmbr"

If you can't boot from CD, check your BIOS options to make sure that it's set to boot from (for example) this order:
    Floppy, CD-ROM, Harddrive

If that still doesn't fix your problem, then there's something else wrong.
    Just a few weeks ago, I was re-installing Windows 7 and after it rebooted to finish the install, my computer would get stuck at the BIOS info screen (POST). I absolutely couldn't figure out what the problem was but it turns out, there was an issue when installing that made my drive go bad and needed to be formatted (which I couldn't do since my PC wouldn't pass POST).

4. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    XP is damaging the Boot from Windows 7 and even the Windows 7 Repair may didn't work!