please help!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by rcam1977, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0
    I really need some help, and first of all I want to say thank you in advance, im not really experienced when it comes to the technical stuff when it comes to computers but I am trying to learn more so I can be more independent and want to understand more about the ins and outs of my computer.


    now for my problem


    if I don't shut my laptop down when im done, or if I just restart it and leave it on and leave or walk away from it for half the day or while I go to work or what ever, when I go to sign back on my laptop goes crazzzzzzy!!!!

    and this is why I say that, the screen fills up with lines that run from left to right and they are spaced about a 1/4 inch apart and then the screen starts to flash for a couple seconds and then just restarts, and then the screen pops up and ask if I want to start windows in safe mode or safe mode or normal mode, then I get a pop up that says my cpu just experienced a unexpected shut down, and ask it I want it to look online for a fix, and it does not find anything, if I run, Microsoft Essentials everything comes back fine, I am running on a Toshiba Satelite that was originally purchased about 5-6 yrs ago and had Vista installed, it has recently been converted to Window7 premium. maybe im worried for nothing but it just seems to my that it cant be good for my cpu to just lockup and restart like that, as I said earlier thanks in advance.
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,857
    13,401
    180
    I recommend in the first place to upgrade BIOS firmware, check out your model webpage.
     
  3. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0
    how do I do that?
    :confused:
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    Could also be GPU or CPU heat problem as for bios upgrade think I would try when machine was cold upgrade could be risky on an unstable machine if it locks up :eek:
     
  5. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0
    what's strange is, it only happens when I don't shut it down all the way, :confused:
     
  6. Ming_the_Merciless

    Ming_the_Merciless MDL Member

    Feb 7, 2014
    139
    48
    10
    I agree with urie. The video behavior you describe sounds heat related. Possible fan failure or laptop needs a good cleaning. There are sites that show how clean laptops. Don't be afraid to remove a few screws from the bottom cover to peak inside. But do keep track of the screws, as they may be differing in length.

    Almost forgot - SpeedFan will show you fan speeds and temps - very handy program.
     
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,857
    13,401
    180
    Shut down you laptop. Turn it upside down and note the exact model no. printed on the sticker. Post it here and I will get it for you.
     
  8. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0

    model#
    PLSE0U-01000R
     
  9. razRA

    razRA MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2012
    68
    13
    0
    #10 razRA, Mar 18, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
    See your bios settings maybe you got virtualization on .. if is on turn it OFF ..then after turn it OFF press F10 and then ok
    how to enter BIOS -->> Shut down your machine. Then-->>Turn on -- while tapping 'Esc', then choose 'F2' for setup

     
  10. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0
    I will check this
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,857
    13,401
    180
  13. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0


    I did this, and didn't see anything about virtualization on or off, next to where it said BIOS, it read 1.70..... I was not able to high lite it or make any changes to it ?
     
  14. rcam1977

    rcam1977 MDL Novice

    Mar 14, 2014
    8
    0
    0
    thanks, ill try this
     
  15. PhaseDoubt

    PhaseDoubt MDL Expert

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,448
    278
    60
    I think I'll go with defective video card, overheating or both. When was the last time you blew out your machine's fans and airways?
     
  16. razRA

    razRA MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2012
    68
    13
    0
    You maybe can try to remove your memory RAM out if you have two take both out.. then put only one in .. check if the problem persist if yes.. turn off the machine again move the RAM memory on the other slot see if the problem persists if yes .. use the other memory do the same as you did with the first memory try both memory slots. Could be the memory or even the slots where the Ram sits. Try to update your bios as well as Mister X suggested !!!
     
  17. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
  18. razRA

    razRA MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2012
    68
    13
    0
    A ye sorry urie .. but maybe he or she like automated service so can use that software rather then download one by one .. or it could be them drivers not .exe if is not .exe is complicated for them to update the drivers am not sure how the drivers on Toshiba website are. He got more options now to choose from :D