Probably elementary for you....but not for me

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by quasarpod, Oct 9, 2016.

1. quasarpod

quasarpod MDL Novice

Jul 29, 2015
    Hi All,
    I run Win 10 Pro on 3 machines and have several portable spinning drives. Each of these drives has a folder called System Volume Information, I think it's because I take checkpoints before doing anything a bit risky and the PC has placed the checkpoint on the portable drive. I cannot delete these folders, I have formatted, tried to take ownership, run active@killdisk and Disk Wipe. Nothing has worked. Can someone please help with a solution to remove these folders?
    Many thanks.

2. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. BrianCohen

BrianCohen Guest

when you zero a hdd with killdisk, you write zeros to everything and everything is over written.

im no expert, but what i can make out is system volume information is created by windows on every hard disk. most likely a file table. the only place it dont exist on my system is on a usb key drive.

so active is over writing it, but windows creates it when you format a disk.

4. rEApEAt

rEApEAt MDL Senior Member

Jan 5, 2011
    Those folders are automatically created. The only way to get rid of that folder is disabling system restore for the concerned partition.

I don't know if this is still valid for Windows 10 though. It probably is...

5. BrianCohen

BrianCohen Guest

even with system restore removed, it still exists.

6. rEApEAt

rEApEAt MDL Senior Member

Jan 5, 2011
    Yes, it will be zero bytes, but will be there.

7. BrianCohen

BrianCohen Guest

yep, all mine are zero bytes.

8. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    Because Zero (0) writing didn't 'touch' Track 0 (Zero), which LLFMT clears too!

And just to mention: using of LLFMT will give all informations of any problems of the Storage device by sector and cluster.