Product key integration

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by crabhunter, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    Hi, I want to add an ei.cfg file to my sources folder containing my product key.
    Can someone give me an example of what I need to put in it.
    Thanks.
    Mike
     
  2. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,346
    6,025
    180
    #2 redroad, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    what OS? :D

    For windows 8 professional WMC it looks like
    Code:
    [EditionID] 
    ProfessionalWMC  
    
    [Channel] 
    Retail  
    
    [VL] 
    0
    
    
     
  3. LostED

    LostED MDL MIRROR Hardlink

    Jul 30, 2009
    3,938
    9,522
    120
    #3 LostED, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    Forum\Computing Life\Windows 8\
    logical :p
     
  4. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,346
    6,025
    180
    #4 redroad, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You never know around here :biggrin:
     
  5. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    #5 crabhunter, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    It is for Windows8 Pro retail, I would like to know where to put my key as well as the version.
    Mike
     
  6. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    #6 Shenj, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. KNARZ

    KNARZ MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2012
    865
    447
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    ok, that looks good.
    But, where do I put the file? sources folder?
    Also I notice mention of winPE and amd64.
    Do I need to replace those entries with WIN8PRO and Intel64?
    Mike
     
  9. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,346
    6,025
    180
  10. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    Thanks everyone, I'm going to try the pid.txt method along with ei.cfg.
    I'll post back with results when I'm done.
    Mike
     
  11. KNARZ

    KNARZ MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2012
    865
    447
    30
    ei.cfg = uses default key without entering any key
    pid.txt = type in the default key than it's like ei.cfg / type in you're key than it becomes activated after install / it's like autounattend but only with pid entry.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. HALIKUS

    HALIKUS MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    527
    369
    30
    Dism /Image:%mount% /Set-ProductKey:
    to hardcode it in the wim
     
  13. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    OK, I did a couple of win8 pro dvds today, the first a 32bit version in which I put in my own ei.cfg and pid.txt and that worked fine, no need to put in a serial.
    Next a 64bit in which I only added a pid.txt, that also installed fine with no need to put in a serial.
    Mike
     
  14. AhrimanSefid

    AhrimanSefid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 12, 2010
    97
    0
    0
    Me Need Help For 2Edit Win 8 PWC And EN Help For Add SN In PID.txt.
     
  15. AhrimanSefid

    AhrimanSefid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 12, 2010
    97
    0
    0
    I have two windows edition one enterprise and the other one media center edition so how can I put this in pid.text?
     
  16. AhrimanSefid

    AhrimanSefid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 12, 2010
    97
    0
    0
  17. BTOR

    BTOR MDL Addicted

    Nov 18, 2009
    575
    584
    30
    Please mask the key, just leave the last 5 char
     
  18. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,357
    210
    #18 murphy78, Feb 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...