[Q] Win 8, bypass PAE/NX/SSE2 check

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by TziMmys, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. TziMmys

    TziMmys MDL Junior Member

    Aug 27, 2012
    70
    8
    0
    #1 TziMmys, Sep 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Is there a way to bypass this check, in order to istall win 8 to older pc's? I was thinking something like this method for win 7.

    Code:
    
    Patch winsetup.dll Hack
    
    
    The system  check for RAM size and its stop installation routine is coded in  winsetup.dll file on the DVD disc or ISO image. Follow the steps below  to patch winsetup.dll to bypass the RAM memory check during setup  installation of Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008.
    
    Note: Only works on 32-bit (x86) version.
    
    Copy the content of DVD installation disc media, or extract the contents of DVD ISO image to hard disk drive.
    
    Download and install any HEX editor such as AptEdit Pro, WinHEX and Notepad++ (a Notepad alternative) with HEX Editor plugin.
    
    Use the HEX editor to open winsetup.dll located inside the /source/ folder of the copied installation files.
    
    Search or find the following HEX (hexadecimal) string:
    
    
    
    77073D7801
    
    Modify the HEX string to replace and overwrite it with the following HEX code:
    
    
    
    E90400000
    
    Save the modified winsetup.dll file.
    
    Run  the setup.exe from the installation files copied to hard disk. For user  who wants to start installation from bootable DVD instead, replace the  winsetup.dll in the ISO with patched version, and then burn the ISO to  disc.
    
    
    See here ~ Guide by Jan1 to bypass CPU feature checks while installing Windows 8.x
     
  2. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,662
    2,207
    90
    #2 moderate, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2016
    There is 2nd setup.exe file within \Sources\ directory on the Win8 installation media, which doesn't check for PAE/NX/SSE2...
     
  3. TziMmys

    TziMmys MDL Junior Member

    Aug 27, 2012
    70
    8
    0
    Thanks for trying, but the pc I was trying to install win 8 did not had a dvd rom, so I had to do this. So, the only solution is to find a way to do what I ask. Thank you though again.

    Edit, I am not allowed to post link, so I just installed win to a drive with coping files in it and run the proper commands, but I get the check error.
     
  4. disc4

    disc4 MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2010
    40
    7
    0
    The computer will refuse to boot without nx bit though. On the first reboot after installing from sources\setup.exe, (when "Windows Setup" is added to the bootloader), you get error 0x0000005b. This is where I'm stuck, I'm curious if anyone has found a way around it.
     
  5. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,662
    2,207
    90
    What CPU do you have?
     
  6. disc4

    disc4 MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2010
    40
    7
    0
    It's not my primary PC, but I'm trying to get it to work on an Athlon XP 2500+ (no nx bit), with 2GB RAM. The system runs Windows 7 fine. I have a hunch that Microsoft wants to enforce requiring an nx bit for security reasons, not technical ones, and it may be able to be overcome. I tried adding "nx AlwaysOff" to the BCD entry for Windows Setup, but no dice, same error.
     
  7. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,662
    2,207
    90
    I'll test it for fun with old notebook iP4 3,06Ghz, 2GB RAM... :)
     
  8. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    I'm waiting for all complaints of these who are still running an XP since years or even W7 and were told, that they can upgrade to 8. Probably most/many of them are using machines which do not meet the 8 requirements. :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,879
    2,037
    210
    #9 pisthai, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
    Asus P5S800-VM Mainboard, Intel 3.06 MHz P4 CPU, 2 GB DDR (1) 400 Memory running with Windows 8 Professional 32bit very well! MB fro 2006 Socket 775!

    Asus P4S800-MX with Intel P4-3.2MHz, Memory SD 512 MB x 2 = 1 GB running Windows 8 32 bit better that Windows XP! Mb from 2001 Socket 478!

    For me that just tell that Windows 8 works on old Hardware very well, even better than Windows 7. I use that later machine for to testing PHP and other apps to see that those apps running well on low power! Also use for to regenerate and fine test HDD's after they having shown problems.

    So, NO Complaints from my site.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. new_hack

    new_hack MDL Member

    Mar 31, 2011
    132
    10
    10
    guy...i'm install win8 with my pc only 512mb ram, prossesor intel celeron 2 core 1.67hz

    method: boot from your dvd or usb installer, continued till select language, click next till install, hold shift button plus F10, cmd will coming then search setup file on source folder....good luck
     
  11. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,662
    2,207
    90
    You have really installed W8RTM on iP4? It should not work as the CPU doesn't have NX bit (it has SSE2, I am not sure about PAE). Did you skipped the check and installed W8 without problems?
     
  12. disc4

    disc4 MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2010
    40
    7
    0
    I think some later iP4 have it. From wiki:

    hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nx_bit#Hardware_background
     
  13. nasus18

    nasus18 MDL Novice

    Apr 8, 2012
    6
    2
    0
    #13 nasus18, Sep 27, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
    My 2003 pentium 4 CPU 3.0 ghz w/o NX, run DVD setup or working Windows to go USB HDD both get 5D
    error,
    Root Setup check for NX and the Setup from source is just turn on NX if the default Bios was disable.
    any CPU from 2003 or before with no NX are unable to run Win 8,
    hopefully someone can come out a bypass solution.
     
  14. TziMmys

    TziMmys MDL Junior Member

    Aug 27, 2012
    70
    8
    0
    No one yet, ha? It would really be great that we could install win8 at any machine we would like.
     
  15. disc4

    disc4 MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2010
    40
    7
    0
    Well, we've gotten past your initial problem, getting the installer to run, but on the first reboot for "Windows Setup" we're still stuck with error 0x0000008b on non-nx-bit CPUs. Hopefully this will get more attention as Win 8 is released and someone will come up with a workaround :)
     
  16. Please-8

    Please-8 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 12, 2012
    92
    50
    0
    The question should be:
    • Is the check for NX bit only is whilst installation ?
    • Or is the check for NX bit is every time whilst booting ?
    First test:
    • Install Windows 8 on a newer machine (with NX bit) on an USB flash stick; 8 GB USB stick is enough for 32 bit version - 16 GB is enough for 64 bit.
    • After complete installation plug in the USB stick into the older machine (without NX bit). Will it run ?
    Second test:
    • Connect your HDD from the older machine (without NX bit) to a newer machine (with NX bit)
    • Install Windows 8 on the newer machine
    • Reconnect your HDD to the older machine. Will it run ?
     
  17. TziMmys

    TziMmys MDL Junior Member

    Aug 27, 2012
    70
    8
    0
    Personally I dont have the pc any more, so I can not try these.
     
  18. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,662
    2,207
    90
    Clever, now it is the for you to post the results. :D
     
  19. joakim

    joakim MDL Novice

    Dec 30, 2009
    21
    6
    0
    I did a quick test and debugged a boot to winpe on one of these crappy cpu's (6 year odl P4). Turns out the crash was initiated from the kernel, which means the check is placed rather centrally. Good luck hunting..
     
  20. icetea

    icetea MDL Novice

    Oct 5, 2012
    4
    1
    0
    i read that win 8 home and pro will not have pae nx checks. but, pro version have it, and home version isn't released yet.