Question about Windows 10 Pro Education

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by getsuga369, Jul 30, 2016.

  1. getsuga369

    getsuga369 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 14, 2015
    64
    17
    0
  2. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,554
    24,014
    240
    Pro Education and Pro have separate upgrade paths
    you can't upgrade one of them to other

    both can be only upgraded to Education
     
  3. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    I guess the good old trick of changing the PID and EID in the registry does the trick, if one wants to go back and forth from one edition to the other
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. getsuga369

    getsuga369 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 14, 2015
    64
    17
    0
    Sry I am confused....what does it mean by existing devices running windows 10 pro (academic license) will be automatically upgraded to Windows 10 Pro Education as part of Anniversary Update.
     
  5. kosta20071

    kosta20071 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 8, 2012
    303
    110
    10
    #5 kosta20071, Jul 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
    I have a question regarding Education edition. I had the pro edition 14393 and decided to go for Education edition , so I downloaded the EducationClient .esd and Upgraded my Pro edition (it seems like it upgraded or at least changed the edition , it wasn't a clean install), it really has no Cortana but I wanted to know if this EducationClient .esd 14393 is Pro-Education ,because in the info it shows only as Windows 10 Education and not Windows 10 Pro Education.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. getsuga369

    getsuga369 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 14, 2015
    64
    17
    0
  7. kosta20071

    kosta20071 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 8, 2012
    303
    110
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. getsuga369

    getsuga369 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 14, 2015
    64
    17
    0
    Don't know but as per the article "Cortana will be disabled by default and cannot be enabled in the Windows 10 Pro Education and Windows 10 Education editions". May be someone can shed light on you.
     
  9. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    It's a good news. What light you need?:g:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. getsuga369

    getsuga369 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 14, 2015
    64
    17
    0
    I don't get about the k-12 license part, Does my Windows 10 pro key obtained from dreamspark will automatically upgrade to Windows 10 Pro Education when AU is released or am I missing something?
     
  11. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    I can't be sure but I think it's unlikely. I guess that if you have a Pro licence it will stay pro, no matter how you got it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,554
    24,014
    240
    I don't know

    but maybe it's related to this new licensing combination
    Pro 14393 can be activated with Pro Education or Enterprise VL license/key, without changing or upgrading the base Pro edition

    similary, Pro Eduation and Enterprise have the same ability

    As explained above, there is no need for that :D
    it's enough to enter the other edition gVLK/MAK and it's changed
     
  13. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    Thanks, that wasn't clear from your previous message.

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,554
    24,014
    240
    True
    but that post was merely about the actual upgrade process itself
     
  15. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,453
    475
    120
    You are correct. Cortana is no longer working in Windows 10 Education but search does. I tried to get it to work by making changes to group policy and the registry but to no avail. I notice that the Start in Education is now shorter.