Remote Desktop Connection problems

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by SvenP, Nov 29, 2013.

  1. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    Can one in any way administer a Windows Server 2013 R2 from a Windows 7 computer by using Remote Desktop Connection?

    My current situation is that I cannot.

    I can however administer the server from a Windows 8.1 VMware virtual machine running on the Windows 7 computer.

    Please advise!
     
  2. ssaeth

    ssaeth MDL Junior Member

    Jul 16, 2009
    80
    16
    0
    did you opend local port 3389 in Your firewall on Your server
     
  3. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    Yes I did.

    If I had not done so one would not have been able to administer the server from the Windows 8.1 either.
     
  4. wantafanta

    wantafanta MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2010
    9
    2
    0
    whats the error message? are you trying to login with domain credentials? is the account with those credentials in the `Remote Desktop Users` group? can you ping the server? do you get the chance to enter any login details? have you cleared you cache? have you turned off your firewall and av? have you tried safe mode? are both the w7 and w8.1 machines on the domain, or are either of them local?
     
  5. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    You miss the point.

    Microsoft has decided, and publically so stated, that Remote Desktop Connection to a Server 2012 R2 may only be made from a computer running Windows 8.1 or Server 2012 R2. I am asking if there is some clever way around it, permitting connection from a computer running Windows 7.

    I have, as stated in the #1 above, confirmed that the connection cannot be made from a bog standard W7 (one gets the "Your credentials did not work"). I have further, as also stated in the #1 above, found one way only around it. But my solution, connecting from a virtual Windows 8.1 riding on top of the W7, is neither clever nor elegant nor fast. I am seeking a better solution (avoiding the use of a large virtual machine).
     
  6. odiea

    odiea MDL Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    137
    40
    10
    You can always try Litemanager. It works and it's also free.
     
  7. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    Thank you very much for your suggestion.

    I will try it out on Monday and report back after testing.
     
  8. wantafanta

    wantafanta MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2010
    9
    2
    0
    I miss no point. Show me the proof; I would like to see this. I can not find anything to prove what you state. In fact, I outright contest it. I just RDP'd over to Windows Server 2012 R2, from both my Windows 7 and 8.1 machines. No issues. At all.

    That's your error message? You need to make yourself more clear, rather than becoming defensive, sir. If you want this fixed, do yourself a favor, explain yourself more clearly (details!), and post some event logs.
     
  9. Jacoub

    Jacoub MDL Member

    Aug 14, 2011
    102
    12
    10
    im able to RDP Windows Server 2012 R2 from an XP machine
    I think the problem is you need from Firewall settings\ Allow an app or feature through Windows Firewall\ Change settings\Remote Desktop enable all Private/public/Domain


    regards
     
  10. wantafanta

    wantafanta MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2010
    9
    2
    0
    Restricted Admin mode is only effective if your using that switch. ie: mstsc /restictedadmin ; you would get a completely different error as the credentials you are trying to use are in the `Remote Desktop Users` group (they work for the other desktop), and I do not believe that switch is even available on Windows 7, so no. trasher255 has provided you with a link, try that.

    Well when you state that Microsoft have made it publicly clear that it cannot be done, I'd congratulate myself too. You can make yourself more clear by answering my previous questions. Which are all still relevant!

     
  11. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    @ odeia,

    I have now tried the Litemanager, which you suggested, and it works well. I do however want to get a full understanding of the reasons for the problem I have encountered and will therefore follow up the suggestions that may be contained in trasher255's link (post #13) as soon as I have the time.

    I really want to understand the cause of my problem!
     
  12. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    147
    10
    Correct me if Im wrong, but doesnt server 2012 use a newer version of RDP? You might just have to upgrade.
     
  13. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    Are you, indirectly, saying that the "newer version of RDP" is what is causing my problem and that there, in your opinion, is no way to administer Server 2012 R2 from W7?
     
  14. cookieboy

    cookieboy MDL Novice

    Jul 11, 2010
    30
    18
    0
    You could also try Teamviewer which is free for non commercial use
     
  15. SvenP

    SvenP MDL Junior Member

    Mar 25, 2009
    80
    25
    0
    Thank you very much for your suggestion.

    I have actually tried Teamviewer and it works well. I do however, as earlier stated, want to get a full understanding of the reasons for the problem I have encountered and will therefore follow up the suggestions that may be contained in trasher255's link (post #13) as soon as I have the time.

    I really want to understand the cause of my problem!
     
  16. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    147
    10
    Possibly. Just a thought.