Removing Windows 2012 DC

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by climws, Jan 27, 2014.

1. climws

climws MDL Novice

Jan 27, 2014
    Hello everyone
    I am kinda new to Windows Server configuration and I hope you can give me some input.

Currently we have 5 servers in our company, Windows 2003, Windows 2003r2, Windows 2008, Windows 2008r2, Windows 2012. Windows 2008r2 was our Primary DC 6 months ago, and when we purchased a new Windows 2012 server, we have allow this new server to take over the role of a DC.

Now we encounter some hardware issue on the 2012 server and wanted to reconfigure the server.
    I have read books on Windows 2012 Installation and Configuration etc but I still have 3 confusions.

1) Can I simply backup and then reformat my Windows 2012? After which I can do apply the AD? I will do it over the weekend.

2) Since there are different versions of Windows Server OS, what is the forest level and domain level that I should select after reinstalling the 2012 server?

3) After I had reformatted, and use back the same domain name, do I have to get all my colleagues PC to rejoin back the same name domain?

2. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Off Topic

Does the new Server 2012 come as OEM licensed??

3. WinDev

WinDev MDL Expert

Jul 6, 2013
    @climws

Which Server do you have? Server 2012 or 2012 R2?

4. Erik B

Erik B MDL Member

Oct 10, 2008
    #4 Erik B, Jan 27, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2014
    I don't know if the following is the recommended method (I guess you can read all about it at MS tech), but I've done it a couple of times.
    1) Create a Windows Server virtual machine
    2) Make it a secondary DC
    3) Remove the primary DC (this is the tricky part)
    4) Make your VM DC the primary DC
    5) Fix and reinstall the real server
    6) Reverse the domain controller transfer and make it the primary DC again.