[Request] [AMI] Samsung Series 7 Slate PC Unlock

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Valkirie, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    #1 Valkirie, Dec 30, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,647
    15,573
    340
    Well, does it have a MSDM table in it??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
  4. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    I'm surprise to see none of you can help us...
     
  5. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,232
    1,803
    90
    graphics config is set to visible, but have you also set chipset and system agent to visible? Maybe chipset and sys agent must be set to visible also to show any of the underlying options.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Buckstr

    Buckstr MDL Novice

    Jan 2, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    similar request

    I have an asus x44L and would also like to unlock the ability to overclock the graphics. Not that is going to yield much performance but just because I am interested in how it could be done. As with this tablet, the chipset options won't show in the bios, even when set visible using AMIBCP. I think it this ability is somehow missing altogether from the bios, not just needing to be set visible. I have checked other bios that have this graphics overclocking option( MSI notebooks) and whole different sub-menus are available for this, outside of the chipset menu which appears to be the same menu we already have. I suspect a simple change with AMIBCP will not work for us.

    I am wondering if we can somehow set the frequency using AMISCE to change the nvflash default frequency for the graphics, if we want to overclock. This is beyond by my bios mod skill set (almost none) so others may chime in if this is even feasible.
     
  7. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    #7 Valkirie, Jan 3, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
    (OP)
    As I said I edited both Graphic Configuration childs, parents to USER to ensure it would be visible.

    Buckstr > Can you post a picture of your BIOS main menu (like the last I posted). I would like to see if you also have a double Separator.
     
  8. segobi

    segobi MDL Addicted

    Jul 14, 2009
    580
    251
    30
    Have fun rendering your slates useless by altering the bios :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Buckstr

    Buckstr MDL Novice

    Jan 2, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    Hmm, my print screens are too large to include in a post, but no double separator in my bios.
     
  10. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    I just edited Chipset item and every childs on it to Access/User : USER . Still invisible...
    One other option would be to define this value from somewhere else... I do have the last release of AMISCE from this board
    but it need to be launched from DOS. Also I can't find any tutorial about it.
    HELP !!!!! Where are you pros ?
     
  11. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,647
    15,573
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
  13. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,251
    11,063
    340
    Right.
    But you can donate your 50 bucks to a humanitarian organization and post details of transfer here if somebody should be able to unlock it.

    Please post a screen shot of the menu where the option should appear when unhidden.

    You already had good luck, messing with AMIBCP can easily render your slate useless.
    Are you able to recover your EFI?
    AMIBCP is not much reliable.

    Btw: Setting access / use from default to user doesn't reveal a hidden option. Visible options have default there as well...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0

    Attached Files:

  15. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,251
    11,063
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    Security isn’t visible. My mistake. My theory was wrong.
     
  17. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,251
    11,063
    340
    To set the option from default to user can work. Some have reported a success at other UEFI. Although at some options it doesn't work to unlock.
    By changing chipset to user at root at module B1DA0ADF-4F77-4070-A88E-BFFE1C60529A_0_180.ROM only one byte got changed at offset 316ACh from 01 to 05.

    I need to check a UEFI where it had worked.....
    Please add a screen shot of the advanced menu.

    Are you sure you have set everything to user, parent and child?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
  19. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,251
    11,063
    340
    The problem is to unlock a main menu that hasn't been visible yet. To unlock features below the already visible main menu seem to work by setting it from default to user.
    Also this UEFI is special since it has some menus twice, one of them is extended and invisible.
    You had luck AMIBCP seem to be able to rebuild your EFI properly.
    By playing with AMIBCP it seems that always the same and only one module got changed.

    There must be something else that controls the menus since all are set to default, but some aren't visible, though.
    Your UEFI has no recovery name in it. This probably means if modified in a wrong way you will encounter problems to get your slate to run again.....

    I didn't find any info about to unlock the main menu yet. I guess nobody has been able to do it yet, UEFIs are new to us BIOS modder...
    It would be much more comfortable to try at a UEFI where recovery is no problem...I wonder if supervisor will gain more rights...but be careful with playing around....
    I am sure there is the need to change a few bytes only, but without to know how it works it is difficult.
    I need to check some more things AMIBCP changes when editing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Valkirie

    Valkirie MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    2
    0
    I'll stay tuned. Reading you with interest. If it's getting to complex, maybe we could just move item (iGFX Frequency) somewhere else ? (SySinfo,Boot, i don't care in fact...) where we could access it...