Request for bios with SLIC 2.1 for Dell Inspiron 518

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Sean03060, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Hi, I am requesting for a bios with SLIC 2.1 for the dell inspiron 518. I recently updated my BIOS off the dell website so my current BIOS version is 1.0.8. Included with my request is all my computer info in an html, and I have the exe of my recent bio update (if it can be used).


    Report: http://depositfiles.com/files/c80ms78sf

    BIOS Update: http://depositfiles.com/files/7kyah3bas


    Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.


    PS: I am new here, if this topic is in the wrong place I am sorry lol. Also, I made the report after I installed windows 7, still need to activate.
     
  2. rvic

    rvic MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    12
    0
    0
    Check out the forums - DELL bioses cannot (yet) be modded, because they are proprietary (DELL uses custom Phoenix bios). Better to wait, I guess some solution will come also for DELL notebook owners.
     
  3. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Thanks. I think I am all set now anyways.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    #4 urie, Aug 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    You are one of the lucky dell owners your bios can be modded you can use andyp's award tool please give link to original bios from dell site or do search on this forum for dell inspiron 530 and you will find the info i posted i would mod the biod for you but your deposit file link isn't working:(

    Ok iv'e downloaded and modded your bios with SLIC 2.1 DELL-FX09-1.0BAWRD2.1.BIN you can get it here
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/2gu65a

    now go to this thread http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/2105
    and read how to make bootable usb thumbdrive
    make your bootable usb add files i posted in archive unpack them first:D boot from usb and run DOSFLASH.bat wait till it is finnished it will tell you when to reset machine after that go into bios settings and load default settings and save if you are like me and don't have a floppy drive remeber to disable tha in bios before saving.

    have fun:D
     
  5. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Thank you very much. :)
     
  6. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    #6 Sean03060, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
    (OP)
    btw are these the correct BIOS for my Inspiron 518(desktop)? I just wanna double check since you mentioned 530 in your post.
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    Yes this is correct bios for your machine also when you select inspiron 518 from dell downloads it comes up as dimensions machine.
     
  8. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Ok thank you again, I just wanted to double check before I do anything. ;)
     
  9. zkc162

    zkc162 MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    hi Sean03060
    Did you success?
     
  10. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    I am afraid I have had little time to get it done. But when I do I will let you know how it went. :)
     
  11. skeletalpuma

    skeletalpuma MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    I tried it on my Dell Inspiron 518 and it worked... Activation of Windows 7 with 7loader 1.5 also worked. Thanks for the help "urie"...
     
  12. Sean03060

    Sean03060 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Wonderful :), I wish I had time to get it done on my pc. Oh well, I will get to it eventually :p.
     
  13. mikeyvegas

    mikeyvegas MDL Novice

    Sep 28, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    I used this bios and now am receiving a "no timer tick interrupt" and the screen looks distorted. After hitting F1 i'm able to get past the error and boot fine, just curious if anyone else getting this error.
     
  14. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    No problems this side have you gone into bios setup and loaded default settings then saved.
     
  15. GDiddy

    GDiddy MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Successful Update, but no advanced features

    Hello,

    I've been searching for an unlocked bios for my Inspiron 518 and thought that is what I have stumbled upon looking at this post. I too was running the 1.0.8 version from Dell. So, I updated with a bootable usb drive and the bios files within this post, but didn't see anything in the bios unlocked that I didn't have before updating.

    Maybe I just had incorrect assumptions of what this unlocked bios might have. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    My main goal would be to possibly up FSB speed / CPU speed. I also heard this board limits you to 4GB max memory.

    Thanks again,

    G
     
  16. dilony

    dilony MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Thanks. I think I am all set now anyways.
     
  17. GDiddy

    GDiddy MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Urie, do you have any ideas on how I can get my hands on a fully unlocked bios for my inspiron 518? Allowing me to mess with FSB, multipliers, and other advanced settings that are seemingly blocked out by the dell 1.0.8 bios? Is this something that I'm just wishing for and is not available?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  18. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    I know they unlocked dell inspiron 530 bios on This forum Before you could request there this is wrong forum for that type of mod.
     
  19. Busykid508

    Busykid508 MDL Guru

    Jun 4, 2009
    5,562
    362
    180
    #19 Busykid508, Nov 1, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    If you still need this bios mod, it is here: http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/177462
     
  20. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    @ Busykid508, think Sean03060 must be really busy 3 months to take five mins off to check our bios mods. :(:confused: machine will be out of date before we get feedbackfrom him. :) I have had feedback on this thread the bios mod i did works.