Reset windows 10 pw?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by LEXX911, Jul 24, 2015.

  1. LEXX911

    LEXX911 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    282
    31
    10
    #1 LEXX911, Jul 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2015
    Ok I don't know what the hell is going on. I have been using my LOCAL ACCOUNT so I decided to check out Windows 10 stupid new email app so I log into the email app with my Outlook account. That for some reason also isn't the same as Windows 8.1 anymore since this one without warning is that now you are in your Microsoft account and no longer in your LOCAL ACCOUNT. I sign out of Windows but managed to log back in with my OUTLOOK password not with my LOCAL ACCOUNT password. So when I decided to go back to my LOCAL ACCOUNT for some reason it ask me to create a password and password hint which I did. So when I sign out of Windows 10 and try to log back in again the freaking password doesn't work! But the correct hint password show up when the password was not accepted. What the hell is going on here? I'm totally lock out of my account. I'm sure my password is right because I have been using it for years. Is there a way to reset the password to my old account? I have a feeling this could be a bug.
     
  2. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    I have a feeling you just f**ked up somewhere, also you never have to input a password/hint into anything, that's optional. You literally mistyped your password that's why you can't login, pretty simple.. not a bug.

    This probably still works to reset your password http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...-password-hack?p=686340&viewfull=1#post686340, you can skip the MS part, you can also just download any password reset tool if it's a local account now or use sethc.exe trick (google).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,746
    270
    #3 EFA11, Jul 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    275
    18
    10
    well there is a bug in the login atleast for the pin login part no matter what it will say invalid username or password when entering a pin but as you said since hes using password I don't think that bug has anything to do with that
     
  5. LEXX911

    LEXX911 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    282
    31
    10
    So I managed to reset the PW with the sethc.exe method. I still have no clue how my password got mess up. It might be the mechanical keyboard when buggy with Windows 10 since I have all CAPS LOCK on and for some reason the SHIFT must have kicked in to make one of the key lower case. I have come to the conclusion is that my SHIFT key must gone a little haywire because yesterday after installing Windows 10 I was moving files instead of copying them when dragging and dropping it from different drives so the SHIFT key somehow got bugged out.
     
  6. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,477
    629
    60
    Shift key being dodgy sounds plausible. When setting a password didn't you need to type it twice to verify???
     
  7. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,548
    377
    90
    this is why PIN option is so much better:clap:
     
  8. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    275
    18
    10
    yeah I set it up but it always says invalid user name or password on this build
     
  9. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,548
    377
    90
    i have no issue with PIN....sounds like u mite need to reset start from scratch.
     
  10. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    275
    18
    10
    already done that its a fresh clean install
     
  11. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    406
    99
    10
    If the Administrator account had been turned on, you would have an alternate way of getting into Windows. Then you could change your user account password. Moral of the story: after installing Windows, enable the Administrator account.
     
  12. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,385
    165
    60
    CHNTPW did the trick for me in seconds :D

    Just sayin'