return Asus g50v to slic 2.0?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Fixer 69, Feb 10, 2016.

1. Fixer 69

Fixer 69 MDL Novice

Feb 10, 2016
    Hi, I am new to bios modding as you will see below, and I have the unusual problem that the replacement motherboard I put into my g50v has a slic 2.1 table, but my recovery software is Vista 64. I was considering using Andyp's AMI tool to return it to slic 2.0 so that my OEM software would activate automatically (the windows product key label is no longer completely legible).

I wondered if anyone has used this tool on a g50v and if the default settings worked for you, and also if backward modification from 2.1 to 2.0 has any special risks?

Or if there is an existing copy of the BIOS somewhere that includes the slic 2.0 table -- I haven't been able to track one down.

I happen to have another machine of the same model with apparently the correct BIOS and slic table -- is it easier to dump it from there and flash it to the problem machine, or is that also risky/complicated?

2. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
    make win 7 usb/dvd would be better.

3. Flipp3r

Flipp3r MDL Expert

Feb 11, 2009
    Slic 2.1 is backwards compatible. You can activate both Vista & 7...

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Fixer 69

Fixer 69 MDL Novice

Feb 10, 2016
    Thanks -- I didn't know that, but maybe whatever is in the ACPI on this board isn't the right one for automatic activation. I'm reading up on Andyp's AMI tool. Any idea if there would be anything weird about the G50v's bios when it comes to using that?

5. Fixer 69

Fixer 69 MDL Novice

Feb 10, 2016
    Agreed, but I'm getting ready to sell this computer, and I was planning to include the original disks with it, but I want them to be as legit as possible and usable too...

6. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
    tell them when u update bios it enables hp win 7 disk automatic activation.

7. Fixer 69