Reusing Metro Apps between users

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by bhupeshgajria, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. bhupeshgajria

    bhupeshgajria MDL Novice

    May 10, 2007
    15
    0
    0
    Hi
    Can we "reuse" the metro apps installed by one user.
    I installed MS office, and other "Non metro" apps. They are coming under All Apps when I login through another user.... but the ones I installed through store are not coming. Do I need to install all the apps again through store when I login with a new user?:confused:

    Thanks
     
  2. bhupeshgajria

    bhupeshgajria MDL Novice

    May 10, 2007
    15
    0
    0
    Guys.... anyone?
    :(
     
  3. guanellaluigi

    guanellaluigi MDL Novice

    Feb 18, 2008
    13
    3
    0
    App executables are stored under the %LocalSettings% path of the current user, so what you are asking seems unfeasible.

    IMHO this is a weak point of the whole Metro strategy on desktop machines. For years we have been taught that Desktop PCs are multi-user machines, and we should set up a separate account for each family member.
    Now, in what was the "recommended" setup, we are unable to share paid apps between family members.... :confused:
     
  4. ammarman

    ammarman MDL Member

    Jul 17, 2009
    127
    13
    10
  5. bhupeshgajria

    bhupeshgajria MDL Novice

    May 10, 2007
    15
    0
    0
    Thanks.... will go through.... but this is bad.... even if it is not a paid app.... installing it multiple times is a pain :(
     
  6. hybridseries

    hybridseries MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2012
    42
    5
    0
    It's because the apps are tied to your account, not your computer. If you log in to the Microsoft Store and right-click you can access your account summary, including all of the apps you've purchased; this includes any you installed during the various preview editions and on different computers. I personally like that it's tied to an account this way since that means you can buy a paid app once and install it again if you switch computers or have to reformat without having to buy it again.