right click context - shutdown / restart / system panel / sounds

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Hackeur, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Hackeur

    Hackeur MDL Senior Member

    Jun 14, 2009
    330
    441
    10
    #1 Hackeur, Aug 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    from Neowin forums - added System panel and System Sounds to the right click menu with restart and shutdown

    save as .reg file, click on it for immediate action:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer]
    "icon"="shell32.dll,-221"
    "Position"="Bottom"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Shutdown Computer]
    "icon"="shell32.dll,-329"
    "Position"="Bottom"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\System panel]
    "icon"="shell32.dll,-290"
    "Position"="Bottom"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Sounds panel]
    "icon"="shell32.dll,-277"
    "Position"="Bottom"
    
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer\command]
    @="shutdown.exe -r -t 00 -f"
    
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Shutdown Computer\command]
    @="shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\System panel\command]
    @="control /name Microsoft.System"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Sounds panel\command]
    @="control /name Microsoft.Sound"
    
    can be customized to add more Control panel items :)
    tested on Windows Enterprise evaluation.
     
  2. myska

    myska MDL Novice

    Jul 13, 2009
    30
    8
    0
    Thanks a lot! Good job! :)
     
  3. Jessica Alba

    Jessica Alba MDL Expert

    Jul 26, 2009
    1,082
    2,189
    60
  4. maya77

    maya77 MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2009
    214
    127
    10
    Can you post a screenshot on how it looks? Thanks.
     
  5. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    413
    54
    10
    Nice, works on win7 too.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Hackeur

    Hackeur MDL Senior Member

    Jun 14, 2009
    330
    441
    10
    posted desktop screenshot ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Hackeur

    Hackeur MDL Senior Member

    Jun 14, 2009
    330
    441
    10
    it works on both Windows 7 and 8 - will be adding more useful items soon :)
     
  8. johnnygt

    johnnygt MDL Senior Member

    Jun 18, 2011
    291
    64
    10
    #8 johnnygt, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    nice mate i did it on my windows 7 and works ,cheers now on to Windows 8 PC...

    for those who dont know how .....
    Code:
    1. select all txt in OP post code and copy
    2. open notepad and paste
    3. select "save as" type registryfix.reg , and under all files to your desktop
    4. go to desktop and double click your newly saved file icon or if saved as txt file right click and open with "registry editor" on windows 8
    5. yes to warning wait for reply
    6. right click on desktop and you'll see new sub menus.
    
    Done
    
    do at your own risk !!!
     
  9. maya77

    maya77 MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2009
    214
    127
    10
    #9 maya77, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
    Looks nice.

    Can it be a single item with the submenu? Like New > Folder, Shortcut, etc...
     
  10. naseap

    naseap MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    489
    123
    10
    Very nice, thanks!!
     
  11. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    18,681
    18,588
    340
  12. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    423
    113
    10
    That was a great find. Since I have an HDMI cable that connects my PC with my HDTV, I have always had to go into control panel to change the speakers to HDMI and then when I'm done watching the movie I have to go back into control panel and switch the speakers back to the PC. Now, this patch greatly simplifies things. Thank you very much.
     
  13. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #13 Mr Jinje, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Thanks, Tito, never saw this format of a shell ext or the "CommandStore" registry location before, I think I just learned my something new for the day. Looks easy enough to create any CMD I like, just give it a name and a command and reference it from the "SubCommands" list. I guess the next logical step is to add some Icon information to give it a more elite look.

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Power Menu]
    "MUIVerb"="Power Menu"
    "SubCommands"="lock;logoff;switch;sleep;hibernate;restart;shutdown;hybridshutdown"
    "Icon"="shell32.dll,215"
    "Position"="bottom"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\lock]
    @="Lock"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\lock\command]
    @="Rundll32 User32.dll,LockWorkStation"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\logoff]
    @="Log Off"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\logoff\command]
    @="Shutdown -l"
    
    
     
  14. thethingy

    thethingy MDL Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2010
    301
    41
    10
    anyone make something that will read C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu and give a cascading start menu?
     
  15. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #20 Mr Jinje, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Has anyone gotten this to work in Windows 8/2012, it doesn't pre-populate my .reg files. It's supposed to create a blank.reg file with "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00" as the data payload.

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.reg\ShellNew]
    "FileName"="template.reg"
    "Data"=hex:57,69,6e,64,6f,77,73,20,52,65,67,69,73,74,72,79,20,45,64,69,74,6f,\
      72,20,56,65,72,73,69,6f,6e,20,35,2e,30,30,0d,0a,0d,0a,0d,0a
    
    EDIT: Fixed it by creating a template file in the "C:\Windows\ShellNew\" folder. (which did not exist on W2012 I had to create it).