Samsung NP365E5C-S05US major PITA

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by WyldWolf, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    So I just purchased 2 of these laptops. Love the hardware - absolutely refuse to run WIN8. Took backup image then reformatted installed WIN7 enterprise and will not KMS activate because it apparently sees SLIC info. However, SLIC toolkit shows:

    SLIC Status: INVALIDATED
    X&RSDT != Pubkey == Marker Version 2.1 Digital Signature OK
    XSDT: <BLANK> Pubkey: SECCSDLH43STAR
    RSDT: <BLANK> Marker: SECCSDLH43STAR

    Bios Info

    Vendor: AMerican Megatrends Inc. Date: 10/23/2012 Size: 1024k
    Version: P03ABF Type: AMI BIOS /ACPI 2.0

    This is while running under CMS bios mode or UEFI+Legacy Mode.

    Can anyone help me get friggin WIN7 working I have never had so many friggin problems getting activated. There is not even one BIOS download for this laptop so I'm not sure how to even get a modded version - I either want to REMOVE the damn SLIC stuff if it's incomplete and preventing me from KMS activating, or fix the SLIC info to OEM activate it. It's dumb that I bought it with a WIN8 license so I'm legal but can't downgrade it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,391
    340
    What about Daz's loader??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    Hey Tito,

    Would really prefer not to use a loader if possible. I thought those were being detected now? This is SO stupid that I have 2 valid WIN8 licenses and simply want to run previous version of OS. What's dumber is that if I purchased 20 of these Samsung's for a business and tried to KMS activate them that because of this screwed up SLIC table, I'd just be SOL?

    I'm just not sure if an Ultimate non-ent install and a simple Samsung cert and OEM key would actually work, or is my SLIC table just not going to work with OEM unless it's modded?
     
  4. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    Am I stuck with loader being only option here? From the look of the SLIC above, is a standard OEM act with samsung cert even possible without a bios mod? I dont want to go to trouble of downgrading enterprise to pro to find out OEM also isn't even an option, although I guess if I have to do loader route it can't be enterprise anyway.

    Just looking for some direction, read and followed a lot of your posts Tito and think you're awesome!
     
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,391
    340
    AFAIK, the Samsung SLIC is present there but it is not complete. Check with AIDA64 or RW-Everything for more info; cause SLIC Toolkit sometimes fails to detect the RSDT pointer on UEFI based systems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,391
    340
    Also, can you post an MGADIAG report??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    Getting it for you shortly, REALLY appreciate you looking at it! Doing a ghost image backup as it is now, just getting the drivers from prior models to get all drivers working under WIN7 was a PITA considering Samsung lists no WIN7 drivers.....so taking a backup before I proceed and also took a ghost image of it as WIN8 (albeit after 1st bootup).....

    Do notice bios lists a "purchased date" that must have been stamped upon 1st boot......wondering had I set UEFI to CMS mode and wiped it before ever booting it if this would have been easier.

    Either way, shortly will post the RW-everything and MGA report.
     
  8. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    #8 WyldWolf, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
    (OP)
    Hopefully I got everything you need. I dumped ACPI and SMBIOS with RWeverything and also MGAreport but size of RW dumps was too big to upload to forum so I looked at them and cut after what looked like relevant sections - just let me know if I didn't get enough. I'm hoping I've got an option to activate it without need of loader.....

    Thanks so much again for your help!

    EDIT: just realized posted wrong file, should be right now.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. WyldWolf

    WyldWolf MDL Junior Member

    Dec 29, 2010
    53
    14
    0
    Hey Tito,

    Were you ever able to look at this?

    Thanks!



     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,391
    340
    Sorry for the late reply... Samsung has intentionally crippled the SLIC. You have to use Windows Loader or request for a bios mod.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...