Sapphire Radeon HD5450 1GB DDR3 Overclocking

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by jime1, Dec 21, 2014.

  1. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    Can I Overclock my Sapphire Radeon HD5450 1GB DDR3 with the BIOS method ?

    My
    CPU: Intel Core2Duo E7500 2.93GHz
    MB : Intel DG41RQ
    RAM: 4 GB DDR2

    :)
     
  2. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    Yes you can, but I don't expect miracles.

    This card isn't powerful enough to run any modern games, even if you run it at very low resolutions.

    I recommend put a fan in the heatsink if you plan to overclock.

    Did you already overclocked it?

    You can't get any higher overclock with BIOS mot than with other tool like MSI Afterburner.

    I don't think it worth overclocking, unless you are planning play some old games.

    In this case, if overclocking can help to get more than 30FPS it may worth.
     
  3. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,718
    3,728
    180
    Just use MSI Afterburner
     
  4. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    Can you please tell how to get into my Graphics card's BIOS ?

    I have tried MSI Afterburner before.. But it wont save my OC settings. Same as AMD overdrive.
    It would get reset to default clocks when ever I restarted my PC manually.. I have to set it up again&again before playing games..
    I wanted something permanent. :unsure:

    Thanks for your participation Guyz . :)
     
  5. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,718
    3,728
    180
  6. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
  7. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
  8. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    #8 revertex, Jan 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2015
    Bios method isn't that risky, but unworthy in your case.

    I'm pretty sure you can't overclock with AMD Overdrive and MSI Afterburner at same time.

    Maybe this pic can help.

    04-57-11_09-January-2015.png

    1) click the padlock, make sure it's open

    2) set your desired overclock values

    3) apply settings

    4) click save, slots 1 to 5 will start blinking

    5) select the slot You want to save your overclock profile

    6) click the padlock icon again to clock the new profile

    7) check "apply overclocking at system startup".
     
  9. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,718
    3,728
    180
  10. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    Don't use 2 different tools to overclock at same time.

    Use AMD Overdrive OR MSI Afterburner, not BOTH.

    I recommend you leave AMD Overdrive, as it is a poor tool compared to MSI Afterburner.

    Your profile in MSI Afterburner still unlocked, lock it (click the padlock icon).

    In MSI Afterburner, go to options > general > extend official overclock limits, reboot and try again.

    MSI Afterburner get these values from your VGA card bios.

    GPU and memory clock scale dynamically, if you are not running any GPU intensive program, it will downclock.

    Check these values while running something gpu intensive, like MSI Kombustor or GPU-Z render test.

    Does this card have a fan?
     
  11. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    #14 jime1, Jan 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2015
    (OP)

    Attached Files:

    • saf.JPG
      saf.JPG
      File size:
      141.4 KB
      Views:
      24
    • saf2.JPG
      saf2.JPG
      File size:
      130.5 KB
      Views:
      21
  12. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    #15 revertex, Jan 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2015
    I'm glad to see you have your problem solved.

    Seems that Trixx did the trick.

    Shame on me, even being a big Saphire fanboy, owning 2 Saphire cards, I totally forgot Saphire Trixx.

    Last time I used Saphire Trixx, long time ago, it was a pile of crap compared to MSI Afterburner.

    Trixx is not as featured as MSI Afterburner, but it seems it did a better job than Afterburner.

    One thing that Trixx lacks, correct-me if I'm wrong, is that doesn't overlay info on screen like Afterburner.

    Afterburner can show FPS like Fraps does, plus a bunch of other info like GPU am Mem usage, temp, fan rpm, etc...

    Keep an eye at temperatures while stressing your card, high temps can damage it.

    I believe you are intended to overclock to get better performance in games, do you mind to share your overclock gain?
     
  13. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    Well yes trixx is very not detailed.. but yess it did what i wanted..

    But yesterday i observed that my monitor went into "no signal mode" 2 times(that too not while playing games, I was just browsing on the browser).. I had to reboot my pc to bring it back to work..:(

    I thought may be it was due to "over"clocking (738Mhz) so i downclocked to 713Mhz... from then it worked fine.

    PS : what is overclock gain?
     
  14. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    Sorry, english is not my language.

    I'm curious about how much FPS overclock can increase in games you play.

    Did you tested how much your video card can overclock, or just set and arbitrary number?
     
  15. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    english is not my language either !

    FPS increase is about 4-5

    And I never tested its limits (I cant afford to test its limits right now ) I just want a smoother game play ... so I increase the clocks by just a little bit. :)
     
  16. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,718
    3,728
    180
    TRIXX is fine, but not many features, least you have OC ability now
     
  17. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    395
    46
    10
    Yeah :) I don't know why msi afterburner doesn't have it in it like trixx!
    May be its make specific :confused: like msi wont agree with sapphire stuff o_O