SBS 2011 activation

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by mcl, Jan 19, 2016.

  1. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    Hello,

    I'm sure the answer to my question is somewhere on this site, but there is a stack of info and I'm not sure what keywords I should be using to find the info that I need.

    So I'd appreciate some suggestions.

    I have an SBS 2011 system which I'm migrating to a new Dell server. I thought that the SBS 2011 image was from Dell; so I expected that when I placed the new box in manufacturing mode that would allow the OS to activate without requiring network access.

    But that has not been the case, the OS has the 3 day grace period and if I click on 'activate now' it wants to connect to the Net.

    So I'm wondering if the SBS might actually be a retail version rather then Dell. How can I work this out?

    Cheers
     
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    Which edition is it - Standard or Essentials? Check the existence of SLIC in the server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    Standard Edition
     
  4. boss1921

    boss1921 MDL Novice

    Sep 29, 2009
    45
    16
    0
    Check out Daz loader or see if there's a modified SLIC for your motherboard.
     
  5. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    #5 mcl, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  6. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    Hi,

    I'd prefer not to use Daz loader in this instance.
     
  7. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    Hi,

    I've been doing some more reading and found the SLIC Toolkit, I think the info on the Advanced tab is relevant to my situation.

    I figure there has to be a guide on this site to explain the basics for Win 7 / 2008 R2 activation; but I have not been able to locate it. If such a thread exists a link would really be appreciated so I have a clearer idea of the steps.

    I've dabbled with this in the past, but it was a while ago and I can't find my notes and I'm not as clear on the requirements / tools as I would like to be.

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    Hi

    I think this thread is relevant to my scenario.

    I'm trying to do the same thing, except that my OS is already installed. I don't have a System32\OEM folder on my image though, so perhaps this OS image is not a Dell preload after all. I'll see if I can locate the XRM-MS file
     
  9. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    @mcl

    1. You have Dell SLIC 2.2 which is good for OEM:SLP activation.
    2. You're using OEM System Builder key, which requires online activation - so we need to change it.
    3. See here to know about OEM:SLP activation. Grab Dell cert from here & use any SBS 2011 Standard key (XXXXX-OEM-7602076) from here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. diogenis

    diogenis MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    #10 diogenis, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    Can this method work with the standard evaluation version image downloaded from MS?
     
  11. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    Yes, obviously.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...