Security Essentials detecting again that windows is not genuine...

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mephistopoa, May 30, 2010.

  1. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    Hi there, I'm fighting with security essentials for a few weeks already, I bought my mother a laptop but because her first language is not english, I installed a localized version and had to use a activator as M$ doesn't provide language pack for home premium and the problems the hack for language packs can cause makes the situation even worse for a laptop that is 8000 miles away now.

    I've blocked that spynet hosts but seems now security essentials somehow is getting the windows key to compare with their database or even something else being sent to M$. Well, the laptop has the DAZ 1.8 loader working absolutely fine, on system it says windows activated and everything runs fine and that new update to kill the loaders was not installed.

    Is there a work around for security essentials? It's a shame I can't use it because I changed the language but it needs to be in this way. Please give me some advice if possible, thanks! :worthy:
     
  2. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    What operating system were preinstalled on the laptop? If it was a version of Windows 7, then you would not need the loader ;)
     
  3. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    Win 7 home premium, but I can't install other localized win 7 home premium version like brazilian portuguese using the same OEM license key so far I know
     
  4. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,499
    15,288
    340
    You should read this -> http://www.mydigitallife.net/2010/05/29/windows-7-validated-as-non-genuine-on-unsupported-editions-with-mui-language-pack-installed/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    thanks for the tip, but where the certificate will be? or where do I get it from?
     
  7. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    Sorry but I believe this is not related to my problem, I haven't installed any language pack, I simply installed the native Win 7 version in brazilian portuguese.
     
  8. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    There used to be a collection thread around here somewhere, I'll see if I can find it. Eventually, you should just use the "Install certificate and serial" button in the loader, it does the exact same thing and it has got all the certificates integrated ;)
     
  9. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    I just done that, I've typed my serial and afterwards used windows genuine tools from M$ website, it passed. Now accessing control panel under system, it still says windows needs to be activated and says my key is invalid. It is a OEM key, and this version I've installed I found on a torrent site, so could it be a retail or one of that technet images released to the public, which means I can use my OEM key on it?

    Thanks for your help
     
  10. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    Is the key an OEM:SLP or OEM:COA?
     
  11. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    I believe COA as it says Windows 7 Home Prem OA (I believe there is no enough space on the sticker)
     
  12. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    Ah that explains it all. The way you want to activate requires that you utilize an OEM:SLP key, find one that suits your system here ;)
     
  13. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    I was comparing these keys and they are exactly the same on DAZ loader, and exactly the ones I used before to activate that laptop, it worked fine, windows says it is activated fine but is security essentials that will detect somehow that my windows is counterfeit and says it is going to stop working in 30 days. Security essentials says that while when I look at control panel >system, it says windows genuine and activated :/

    Don't know, but seems M$ is doing some nasty tricks using backdoors on security essentials for that.
     
  14. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    If it's found in the loader, then it's obviously OEM:SLP ;) Do you have any other cracks installed? Any entries in your hosts file?
     
  15. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,499
    15,288
    340
    Well, clearly this is my mistake.... o_O
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    just 3 entries on hosts to avoid that spynet crap, but I believe this wouldn't do anything, ins't it ? Besides this, plain vanilla installation on Win 7 home premium in brazilian portuguese
     
  17. mephistopoa

    mephistopoa MDL Novice

    Aug 22, 2009
    20
    0
    0
    No worries mate, anyway I appreciate the help :cool:
     
  18. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    With the loader uninstalled, run SLIC Dump Toolkit and see if your computer in fact has got any SLIC table at all in the BIOS.
     
  19. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    #20 Calistoga, May 30, 2010
    Last edited: May 30, 2010