seeding a torrent?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by blueice23, Oct 26, 2011.

1. blueice23

blueice23 MDL Novice

Oct 26, 2011
    When I have uploaded enough for 1 full copy,can I delete that torrent+data & still have what I uploaded for another to use for that torrent?I have been uploading till at least 1 full copy,then I delete torrent from my computer.I figure what I uploaded is in the database for the torrent,so after I get rid of it on my computer the upload is still their for another to download.
    I am new to this & don't know wether I am correct or incorrect.I know it sounds silly deleting a torrent I downloaded.But what I do is,as soon as I have the full download I transfer a copy to a external HDD to save space in my pc.And I continue to upload,then after I get 1+ up I delete it from my pc.
    Also I usually get very slow upload,25-32Kb/s.Anyway to speed that up or is that about average?

2. jayblok

jayblok MDL Guru

Dec 26, 2010
    if you want others to download your torrent,do not delete the file,let it seed,once you delete a file that has already been downloaded,others will not be able to download from you

3. Stannieman

Stannieman MDL Guru

Sep 4, 2009
    You can't judge depending on the size that has been uploaded.
    Say you cut the data into 4 pices (part1 - part4) and you're seeding to 2 others, downloader1 and downloader2.
    If you've seeded the full size of the data there are 2 posibilities.

1) - downloader1 has part1 and part2
    - downloader2 has part 3 and part4
    This would be ok cause they can both share with eachother what the other doesn't have.

2) - downloader1 has part1 and 1
    - downloader2 has part3 and also part2 (just like downloader1).
    In this case downloader1 can share part 1 with downloader2 and vica versa for part3, but none of them will ever be able to get part4 without you seeding it.

Only lots of luck and pure coincidence could get your into possibility 1, it's almost impossible actually.