Server 2003 DC AD User synchronisation

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by delta925, Sep 22, 2011.

1. delta925

delta925 MDL Novice

Nov 30, 2010
    The background is I am not an IT expert but responsible for our small ( 20 users ) internal non-internet connected network

The network has one domain and the server / domain controller is running Server 2003 and the workstations are all running XP Pro. We have a spare identical server. This is not left running rather the idea in the case of hardware or software failure, virus attack etc it can be switched on so users can log in then depending on the problem either the data drives can be transferred to the second server or it can be loaded from our off-line backup drives.

I do realise unlike NT with 2003 there is not a formal Domain Controller / Backup Domain Controller arrangement. I can't recall exactly how as I would have been following instructions from a website but when I set up up the backup computer the user list was copied from the main system.

The immediate issue is we have had a few changes of staff so new domain users have been added. I realised today the backup server would not have these details so switched it on expecting to find an obvious function to update the changes in the user list users from the primary domain controller.

Perhaps I am putting the wrong words into Google but I have not found the required information.

Hence instructions to update the backup server to match the primary server will be appreciated.

2. delta925

delta925 MDL Novice

Nov 30, 2010
    Thanks for replying.

Yes using DCPROMO to make the backup system a DC sounds like the method I used.

Both systems are Server 2003 (not R2) and 99% both have SP1 and maybe SP2 as well.
    I know more than 60 days since backup server was last on but from the names on the user list not 180 days since I promoted it to a DC.