Server 2012 activation - 0xC004E016

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by mcl, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    #1 mcl, Mar 3, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,770
    340
    #2 Tito, Mar 3, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @mcl

    What do you mean by 'Preview Edition'? Is it a time- based evaluation? Please post the output of the following:
    Code:
    cscript slmgr.vbs /dlv
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    #3 mcl, Mar 3, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    It was a DVD that I happened to have to hand, once installed, on the desktop it says
    Code:
    Windows Server 2012 Datacenter Preview Build 9431
    Here is the output from slmgr.vbs /dlv
    slmgr.vbs.dlv.jpg
     
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,770
    340
    @mcl

    Its pre-RTM preview build - please update to RTM build (9600).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    @Tito

    OK have located Build 9600 and error code has changed to 0xC004F07C

    My understanding is that this error code means a problem with the certificate, which the SLIC Toolkit confirms (was runas admin)

    But I thought it was the License file that provided the certificate and the -ilc command completed OK
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
  7. Threat

    Threat Lord of the Files

    Feb 23, 2014
    1,239
    1,405
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    I don't know enough to be able to dispute your statement.

    However I note the following:

    • According to the SLIC toolkit, my SLIC is the same as the one shared in the 2012 R2 OEM SLP thread (see here)
    • The hardware (a T310) is running the latest DELL BIOS and 2012 R2 is listed as a supported OS, so therefore the BIOS should be compatible
     
  9. Threat

    Threat Lord of the Files

    Feb 23, 2014
    1,239
    1,405
    60
    #9 Threat, Mar 7, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2016
    See attached screenshot of my Dell 2950 with 2012 R2 activated.

    Make sure you edition is Standard (Full version, not Preview)

    The OEM key for Datacentre never got leaked out to the best of my knowledge - but there is no difference other than an on-paper licence for the number of VM's you get included, so from your point of view no difference.

    The second key you posted appears to be the Datacentre key for 2012 original, not R2.

    If your using 2012 original release then you should be ok with that key and SLIC2.2, but build 9600 is R2.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. mcl

    mcl MDL Junior Member

    Apr 17, 2011
    62
    2
    0
    @Threat

    It seems that you're right about the SLIC.

    Since this was just a test on my part, I'm not going to risk trying to mod the BIOS.

    It seems that the reality is that the T310 does not support 2012R2 with respect to SLIC.

    Cheers
     
  11. Threat

    Threat Lord of the Files

    Feb 23, 2014
    1,239
    1,405
    60
    Don't be a wimp! Mod that BIOS! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    2,218
    1,810
    90
    Windows Loader?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Threat

    Threat Lord of the Files

    Feb 23, 2014
    1,239
    1,405
    60
    I think that would be a bit of a cheat using a software solution, since he said he wants to be familiar with how OEM activation works. Better to make the hardware eligible via BIOS update then anything he does to activate it within Windows would be 'genuine' how he would do it in real environment.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...