SLI Mod possible for Crossfire Boards?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by slicjunkie, Jan 15, 2016.

  1. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #1 slicjunkie, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2016
    Hi,

    i have a Asus Maximus ll Formula Motherboard that only supports Crossfire. Now i read that it would be possible to mod the Bios ACPI / DSDT table to activate the SLI support of the NVIDIA driver. Is there anyone here in this forum that could help me by adding the sli identifier string into my bios? I don´t want to use any SLI Patch in my OS as i also prefer to activate my Win7 with SLIC table instead of any activator.
     
  2. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,475
    627
    60
    Have a look at : Pheonix Tool I'm pretty sure there's an option to inject an nvidia certificate. I think you may also need to mod the driver. I've never had the need to use it so am not sure...
     
  3. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #4 slicjunkie, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016
    (OP)

    Wow Tito your help and support is really making me speachless, never expected that. Thanks a lot!

    My system is only running well with bios version 2104, newer ones were causing problems and are not necessary anyway. Could you please be so kind and mod the one i uploaded with the SLI String for me? SLIC Table for Windows 7 activation is already integrated so i only need the SLI String and nothing else. You would do me a big favour with that. Do i have to enable something special in the bios after flashing or is flashing all i have to do? I´m using the NVIDIA driver version 347.52 at the moment. Do you know by chance if that will work? Thanks for everything!

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6iD6tVTwQLwQUhmVVVRcjdtZ3c/view?usp=sharing
     
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    @slicjunkie

    I'm sorry, but the host is terrible from my end. o_O

    Which SLIC (and optional SLP string) do you want? I can start with stock 2104.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #6 slicjunkie, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    (OP)

    I changed the host and gave all rights to you, hope that will work for you now. I can´t answer your question because i don´t understand anything about modding. The only thing i would want is that my motherboard is supporting SLI for the driverversion i´m using so that i can activate SLI in my OS. Or with other words, i would want that my motherboard shows the driver that it is certified for SLI so that the driver will offer the SLI option in it´s control panel, that´s all. Sorry for my english, i´m german and don´t know better;)
     
  7. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #8 slicjunkie, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    (OP)

    1. Thanks for the mod. I will report back as soon as i find some free time for testing.
    2. I just wanted to inform you that the SLIC Table for the Win7 activation is already integrated in the flash file that i uploaded for you, so that you only have to add the SLI String and nothing else. Sorry for the misunderstanding.
     
  9. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #9 slicjunkie, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    (OP)
    Hi Tito

    I flashed one of my two bios with your mod. After i uninstalled the NVIDIA driver and reinstalled it. Now both identical cards are recognized but still no SLI option available (see attachment 1). Also the ACPI Section of the bios shows the SLIC Table for Win7 but no SLI (see attachment 2). Don´t know if that is relevant. Can we try something else or do i have to give up on it?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    @slicjunkie

    1. Unlike SLIC, SLI isn't a separate ACPI table. In AIDA64, click on DSDT (2nd on the list) & check if SLI certificate is present there.
    2. Stock driver shouldn't work on modded SLI; AFAIK you need a modded one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #11 slicjunkie, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
    (OP)

    1. Wow you made it (see Attatchment) :thumbsup:

    2. Are you willing and able to also mod my driver for me or if not, do you know someone or some place who or where i can ask for it?

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6iD6tVTwQLwOUk0U1p2bG56YlU

    To be onest i would really prefer if you could do it, because with this kind of stuff not everyone is a master and till now i could manage that my system, programs and games are running without problems and i would like to keep that. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #13 slicjunkie, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
    (OP)

    @Tito

    I was reading about that methods already and the reason why i started this thread was that i don´t want to use patches at all. As i discribed in my first post, i only use mods instead of activators for Win7 and mini images made with Daemon Tools instead of cracks for games for example, because you never know what patches and cracks do else to your OS and performance.

    I was hoping that i could be fine with a bios mod and for my sake a modded driver (for example by opening the driver.exe to insert something like a reaction to the sli cert of the bios and closing it again) so that SLI would work automaticly after driver installation.

    If a patch would be ok for me, i could have used HyperSLI right away and didn´t have to ask for a unnecessary bios mod (in this case) you know. Also i have two identical graphics cards and don´t need DifferentSLI anyway.

    So i guess that means that i have to give up on it if i don´t want to use patches. Right?
     
  14. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,773
    340
    @slicjunkie

    AFAIK, without modding the driver its almost impossible to enable SLI support even if the certificate is present is DSDT. As this isn't really my area of expertise, I think it would be better to opt for someone else's input.

    :hug2::rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...