SLI Mod possible for Crossfire Boards?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by slicjunkie, Jan 15, 2016.

  1. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #1 slicjunkie, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2016
    Hi,

    i have a Asus Maximus ll Formula Motherboard that only supports Crossfire. Now i read that it would be possible to mod the Bios ACPI / DSDT table to activate the SLI support of the NVIDIA driver. Is there anyone here in this forum that could help me by adding the sli identifier string into my bios? I don´t want to use any SLI Patch in my OS as i also prefer to activate my Win7 with SLIC table instead of any activator.
     
  2. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,530
    655
    60
    Have a look at : Pheonix Tool I'm pretty sure there's an option to inject an nvidia certificate. I think you may also need to mod the driver. I've never had the need to use it so am not sure...
     
  3. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    @slicjunkie

    I'm sorry, but the host is terrible from my end. o_O

    Which SLIC (and optional SLP string) do you want? I can start with stock 2104.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #6 slicjunkie, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    (OP)

    I changed the host and gave all rights to you, hope that will work for you now. I can´t answer your question because i don´t understand anything about modding. The only thing i would want is that my motherboard is supporting SLI for the driverversion i´m using so that i can activate SLI in my OS. Or with other words, i would want that my motherboard shows the driver that it is certified for SLI so that the driver will offer the SLI option in it´s control panel, that´s all. Sorry for my english, i´m german and don´t know better;)
     
  7. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
  9. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #9 slicjunkie, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016
    (OP)
    Hi Tito

    I flashed one of my two bios with your mod. After i uninstalled the NVIDIA driver and reinstalled it. Now both identical cards are recognized but still no SLI option available (see attachment 1). Also the ACPI Section of the bios shows the SLIC Table for Win7 but no SLI (see attachment 2). Don´t know if that is relevant. Can we try something else or do i have to give up on it?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    @slicjunkie

    1. Unlike SLIC, SLI isn't a separate ACPI table. In AIDA64, click on DSDT (2nd on the list) & check if SLI certificate is present there.
    2. Stock driver shouldn't work on modded SLI; AFAIK you need a modded one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
    #11 slicjunkie, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
    (OP)

    Attached Files:

  12. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. slicjunkie

    slicjunkie MDL Junior Member

    Sep 8, 2008
    53
    5
    0
  14. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,577
    15,392
    340
    @slicjunkie

    AFAIK, without modding the driver its almost impossible to enable SLI support even if the certificate is present is DSDT. As this isn't really my area of expertise, I think it would be better to opt for someone else's input.

    :hug2::rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...