SLIC 2.1 and Vista

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by fadsarmy, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. fadsarmy

    fadsarmy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    I want to update my Toshiba laptop with slic 2.1. I am currently running genuine Vista 32. If I update bios now will I be able to continue using Vista for the time being until I get round to installing Windows 7?
     
  2. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,103
    1,302
    150
    Ofcourse.

    SLIC 2.1 will activate windows 7 and vista. You may have to reactivate but Im not sure.
     
  3. Ron1958

    Ron1958 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 21, 2010
    55
    1
    0
    I have tried this, and no you won't have to reactivate.
     
  4. jusilusi

    jusilusi MDL Novice

    Jun 28, 2009
    39
    0
    0
    2.1 cert required?
     
  5. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    300
    10
    Only if the 2.0 cert is different than the 2.1 cert. For some manufs (Acer), it is, for others (Dell), it's not. Don't know off the top of my head if Toshiba is or not.
     
  6. Kouryu

    Kouryu MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2011
    408
    111
    10
    I put a SLIC 2.1 bios into two different working vista machines before... it was totally uneventful... windows stayed activated, so it's all good!
     
  7. fadsarmy

    fadsarmy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    Thanks everyone.
     
  8. exorcist

    exorcist MDL Junior Member

    Oct 31, 2007
    51
    2
    0
    @fadsarmy

    Have upgraded a few vista Toshiba's to Win7 and all activated. :)

    DONT update to slic2.1 unless you really have to flashing is risky!
     
  9. fadsarmy

    fadsarmy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    Hi. Are you saying windows 7 activated with slic 2.0?
     
  10. Kouryu

    Kouryu MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2011
    408
    111
    10
    it won't and it never will unless you used a retail key or used tricks to activate a volume license

    as long as you're using an official toshiba bios with SLIC 2.1, I don't see much risk of flashing it
     
  11. fadsarmy

    fadsarmy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    I have flashed other computers many times without issues.
     
  12. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    300
    10
    I think he meant there is a risk in the flashing process itself. E.g., if the flash freezes halfway through and he ends up with a bricked mobo.