Slimdown10 – turn Windows 10 22H2 or LTSC 2021 into classic/legacy Windows

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Deleted member 190847, Feb 15, 2023.

  1. raptorddd

    raptorddd MDL Addicted

    Aug 17, 2019
    606
    196
    30
  2. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    374
    171
    10
    How to use this script or the resulting iso with your own $OEM$ - to install your own programs?
    $OEM$ - has its own SetupComplete.cmd
     
  3. cyberthug

    cyberthug MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2017
    62
    63
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cyberthug

    cyberthug MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2017
    62
    63
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. #526 Deleted member 190847, May 12, 2023
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2023
    (OP)
    Create Your_App_Folder (or any name) inside Slimdown10 main folder.

    Edit Slimdown10.cmd and replace:

    this:
    Code:
    echo @ECHO OFF>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    echo set CDROM=>>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    echo FOR %%%%I IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST "%%%%I:\Updates\Win10MarkerFile.txt" SET CDROM=%%%%I:>>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    with that (ie. last 2 lines are added):
    Code:
    echo @ECHO OFF>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    echo set CDROM=>>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    echo FOR %%%%I IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST "%%%%I:\Updates\Win10MarkerFile.txt" SET CDROM=%%%%I:>>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    
    xcopy "%~dp0Your_App_Folder\*" "%~dp0DVD\Updates\Your_App_Folder\" /e /s /y >nul 2>&1
    echo start /w "" "%%CDROM%%\Updates\Your_App_Folder\your_application.exe" /silent_switch >>"%~dp0mount\Windows\Setup\Scripts\SetupComplete.cmd"
    Of course, Your_App_Folder , your_application.exe and /silent_switch should be changed accordingly.
     
  6. #527 Deleted member 190847, May 12, 2023
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2023
    (OP)
    Maybe it would be some solution. Just install original ISO, activate it and then reformat disk and immediately reinstall slimmed down version.
    Because you already have a digital license, the slimmed down version should activate automatically without MAS or any other activator.
     
  7. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    374
    171
    10
    Can I somehow set my own avatar?
    The option in the settings does not work.
     
  8. ms_pam

    ms_pam MDL Novice

    Jan 29, 2023
    10
    7
    0
    @wkeller or anyone else who see this, my original post seemed to have been missed by the masses so just asking again if anyone is able to post the code to pastebin or an alternative posting site. Downloading the .rar file from the internet is not an option for some enthusiasts due to security issues of downloading unknown documents. So please if possible, could the plain code be posted for these poor security constricted individuals to join in the fun here, thanks :D
     
  9. SunLion

    SunLion MDL Senior Member

    May 11, 2011
    307
    340
    10
  10. drew84

    drew84 MDL Expert

    Mar 13, 2014
    1,347
    2,302
    60
    ... not to rain on parades here but, has anyone shown the courtesy of asking @wkeller if it is actually OK to share his code elswhere
     
  11. Matrix360

    Matrix360 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 22, 2015
    54
    73
    0
    #533 Matrix360, May 15, 2023
    Last edited: May 15, 2023
    @zbigniew59
    Open a command prompt as administrator and type:
    Code:
    reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PolicyManager\default\Settings\AllowYourAccount" /v "value" /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    Reboot and go to your account info page in settings.

    If you want to modify the script Slimdown10.cmd, comment or remove the line:
    Code:
    Reg add "HKLM\TK_SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PolicyManager\default\Settings\AllowYourAccount" /v "value" /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f >nul
    
     
  12. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    374
    171
    10
    Thank you very much - it works.
     
  13. febrero2048

    febrero2048 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 19, 2017
    88
    41
    0
    On OneDrive context menu items in Windows File Explorer, I don't see the options to "Share" or "Free up space".
     
  14. Matrix360

    Matrix360 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 22, 2015
    54
    73
    0
  15. Thank You :)
    I do not want to restrict users activities (forks and mods). But if you publish it elsewhere, please mark where the original resides.

    PS. I will address other cosmetic issues mentioned here, when time allows. Probably next month update.
     
  16. Fiisk

    Fiisk MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2017
    6
    1
    0
    @wkeller I cannot activate my Office 365, whenever I press the sign in button, it says connecting to server and then fails. Tried several times with no luck. Any ideas why this is happening.
    Also how can i renable specific side folders in My Computer (like downloads, Music, Videos, etc) again?

    Thank you for your hardwork.
     
  17. I have not Office 365 to test, only older Offices.
    But have you tried to enable Windows Update (ie. Toggle Windows Update) or EnableStore option before activating ?
     
  18. Matrix360

    Matrix360 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 22, 2015
    54
    73
    0
    #540 Matrix360, May 17, 2023
    Last edited: May 17, 2023
    @wkeller
    The commands included in "UserSetup.cmd" are executed in the context of a normal user (not as administrator). They should therefore not include machine context commands, such as "reg add HKLM..." or "sc config". These commands have no effect. Global machine settings must be applied directly in the install.wim image or in SetupComplete.cmd.

    As a result, in this version 1.50, for example, the wlidsvc and UsoSvc services are always disabled, even if they are enabled in UserSetup.cmd.