Slipstream Superseded Updates Question

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Frank2012, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. Frank2012

    Frank2012 MDL Novice

    Sep 8, 2012
    16
    2
    0
    I am using DISM to slipstream all fixes and patches to make an updated Windows 7 installation disc. I have all my Microsoft Updates in a folder, but I am concerned that some may be superseded by others.

    So if I have Patch A and Patch B, and Patch B supersedes Patch A, but I slipstream both with the DISM tool, will there be a conflict or error? During the Windows 7 installation, would the Patch B update be installed instead of Patch A?
     
  2. Skaendo

    Skaendo MDL Addicted

    Sep 23, 2014
    888
    534
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    151
    10
    I, too, would like to know how to remove superseded updates from a WIM image.
     
  4. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,394
    11,615
    240
    Take my advice, from years of experience. Start over and re-integrate. Don't try to remove any updates.
     
  5. Skaendo

    Skaendo MDL Addicted

    Sep 23, 2014
    888
    534
    30
    #5 Skaendo, Oct 28, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    If you know which ones that you want to remove then you can mount the wim (separate process) and search for the string like so: (where d:\wim-image is the location of your wim)

    Code:
    dism /image:d:\wim-image /get-packages | findstr KB2952664
    
    and then remove it with:

    Code:
    dism.exe /image:d:\wim-image /remove-package /packagename:Package_for_KB2705219~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~6.1.1.1
    
    Commit and unmount the wim.

    The fun part is knowing which ones to remove.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,141
    84,319
    340
    Newer (higher version) sxs components take precedence, regardless which update they come from

    so no conflict will occur, and superseded updates become just excess baggage
     
  7. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    151
    10
    #7 cocachris89, Oct 28, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I'm trying to find all superseded updates within a wim. I have mounted the wim and used the following command to get the current installed packages:

    Code:
    Dism /Image:"D:\mount" /Get-Packages /format:table
    All turns out good, however if I try to pipe it with | and try to find a string, it doesn't return anything. :confused:

    Code:
    Dism /Image:"D:\mount" /Get-Packages /format:table | find /i "Superseded"
    I would then output this to a text file however the piping doesn't work as expected for some reason.
     
  8. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,141
    84,319
    340
    If we could find Superseded updates so that easily, we wouldn't need lists and projects to track updates :rolleyes:
     
  9. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    12,530
    13,522
    340
    #9 xinso, Oct 28, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015
    The best policy is to

    1. remove all removable pre-installed updates
    2. update to date online
    3. sysprep to audit mode
    4. remove existent user account and its files
    5. sysprep /generalize /oobe /shutdown
    6. WinPE boot, or boot to another partition
    7. remove Administrator folder
    8. capture
     
  10. decabet

    decabet MDL Novice

    Oct 27, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    Xinso, I always use sysprep for this purpose as well, never bother to remove user and admin accounts/ folders.
    Could you please explain if that is a bad decision, and why? Thanks!!
     
  11. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    151
    10
    Bummer o_O
     
  12. teeyounee

    teeyounee MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    Me too jukjukjuk
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    47,027
    93,867
    450
    #13 Enthousiast, Oct 29, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I do this:

    Use the latest simplix updatepack to integrate the bulk of the updates to the offline wim file
    Put the wim file in the source iso
    Install in vmware using a dedicated physical drive or partition
    On first OOBE screen press "CTRL+SHIFT+F3" to enter Audit mode
    Install leftover updates (kb's and dotnet452 + updates)
    Enter oobe/Generalize/shutdown system
    Capture with this exclusionList list (all credits to abbodi1406, he provided it):

    Code:
    [ExclusionList]
    \Boot
    \Recovery
    \Recovery.txt
    \BOOTSECT.BAK
    \ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\*
    \Users\Administrator
    \Windows\debug\*
    \Windows\inf\*.etl
    \Windows\inf\*.log
    \Windows\Logs\CBS\*
    \Windows\Logs\DISM
    \Windows\Logs\dosvc
    \Windows\Logs\DPX
    \Windows\Logs\PBR
    \Windows\Logs\SetupCleanupTask
    \Windows\Logs\SIH
    \Windows\Logs\WindowsUpdate
    \Windows\Logs\DirectX.log
    \Windows\Panther
    \Windows\Prefetch
    \Windows\security\database\*.chk
    \Windows\security\database\*.log
    \Windows\security\database\*.jrs
    \Windows\ServiceProfiles\LocalService\AppData\Local\FontCache-S-1-5-21-*.dat
    \Windows\SoftwareDistribution
    \Windows\System32\catroot2\*.chk
    \Windows\System32\catroot2\*.log
    \Windows\System32\catroot2\*.jrs
    \Windows\System32\CodeIntegrity\bootcat.cache
    \Windows\System32\Sysprep\Panther
    \Windows\System32\Sysprep\Sysprep_succeeded.tag
    \Windows\System32\winevt\Logs\*
    \Windows\Temp\*
    \Windows\WinSxS\ManifestCache\*
    \Windows\WinSxS\Temp\PendingDeletes\*
    \Windows\comsetup.log
    Open notepad, paste the "code" content and save as .ini file and use it with the dism or imagex command to capture the sysprepped windows to a install.wim file.

    I myself leave the admin account in the captured wim because if i try to re-enter in audit mode the windows account will be a temp one and nothing is saved after signing off.