slow start with black screen

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by vrailink, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    Okay I have Windows 8 pro WMC for quite some time now (couple of months) but for a few weeks my computer takes about 7 minutes to boot up to a usable state. Here is how it goes.

    My computer first boots up with the boot logo and then black screen for a minute or 2. Then comes the logon screen. When I enter my passcode it seems at first that nothing happens then the screen lock comes up again to dissapear and show the welcome text. and I notice some high disk activity at startup.

    I tried sfc /scannow, disk error repair, removing unwanted startup programs (tried soluto, ccleaner, tuneup) and defragmentation. I really don't want to refresh my pc for the programs I have. Any help? :confused:


    my pc specs:

    Windows 8 pro WMC activated
    Acer Aspire v3-771G
    Intel Core i7 2.3GHz
    8GB DDR3 RAM
    750GB HDD
    NVIDIA GeForce 650M (2gb)
     
  2. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,405
    60
    Check if there are some error during boot in event log....
     
  3. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    Yes I forgot to mention I did this as well. I can see only on error and that's "service control manager" with id 7024. Description "Homegroup listener has stopped with a specific service error: no endpoints available" (this is a rough translation from the dutch description).

    When I looked on the internet I couldn't find a working solution
     
  4. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,405
    60
    You check both system & application log & found just one error?
     
  5. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    Yes only that one. All the others are just information. And some dns warnings but that's because i'm not connected to the internet at startup ;)
     
  6. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    did you replace any driver recently?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0

    Only the recommended nvidia and intel updates from the manufacturer. Nothing else I can think of.
     
  8. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    so how was it before?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,405
    60
    Ok... As suggested by PaulDesmond , you faced this problem after install of any specif app or drive? If yes... then uninstall those & see... If not.. Check your HDD, if found nothing refresh/reinstall it...
     
  10. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    Problem is I can't remember when it first started :( This is bad, guess I'll have to refresh anyway huh?
    Is there a way to refresh without installation dvd? I don't have one with me...
     
  11. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    see here: Screenshot (3).jpg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    Thank you both for all the help. :biggrin: I will now follow these instructions and hopefully this will be worth it :p
     
  13. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,356
    1,446
    180
    usualy in 7 u start pc with F8 low graphics mode aka vga mode. then in device manager remove it and reboot.. it reinstalls driver.
    i wonder if this applies to win8?
     
  14. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    wish you good luck and when it fails, ok, reinstall. It is done in a few minutes ... lol
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. vrailink

    vrailink MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2011
    64
    3
    0
    The tutorial isn't working for me. It still asks for a medium. Guess I'll wait until I can get my hands on an installation disk :p