SLP1.0 Questions

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by bennyboy, Oct 19, 2008.

1. bennyboy

bennyboy MDL Member

May 9, 2007
    Hi everyone. I have a few questions to ask about SLP1.0 as I have never used it before. I have done a bit of searching and haven't found much about it, can anyone point me to a page which explains everything? This subject must've been covered loads over the years since XP came out.
    I am trying to activate a Packard Bell PC with XP SP3.
    Am I right in understanding that I need the SLP string in the BIOS, the OEMBIOS files etc. and matching product key?
    If I'm right, can someone do a mod for me if I provide them with a link to the BIOS, and can you install the OEMBIOS file(s) without having to add them to the cd (like the slmgr.vbs commands for Vista)?

I really appreciate any help. Thanks.

2. 911medic

911medic MDL Guru

Aug 13, 2008
    The string should be easy to input yourself, depending on the oem yu choose..I use hp as a rule..Use DMICFG or other tools for this..AMI has their own..
    The oembios files should be able to be put in the install in the system32 directory..

Change the serial and reboot..it works most of the time without repair install..

I will look for the threads..it is covered in the MSFN forums also..

What brand bios?? AMI/AWD

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bennyboy

bennyboy MDL Member

May 9, 2007
    Thanks man, it looks like you were just what I was looking for. It's an AWARD BIOS, but if you can find info for AMI aswell that would be awesome. Thanks again, and I am looking forward to your next reply.

4. 911medic

911medic MDL Guru

Aug 13, 2008
    #4 911medic, Oct 20, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007