Small driver question (not request)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by avi smile, Jul 4, 2016.

1. avi smile

avi smile MDL Junior Member

Mar 1, 2015
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. MrMagic

MrMagic MDL Guru

Feb 13, 2012
    Realtek ones are probably newer

3. Mr.X

Mr.X MDL Guru

Jul 14, 2013
    In my experience Realtek ones are always newer. However, some motherboard or computer vendors have customized drivers in such a way that Realtek HD Audio Manager utility only work from theirs, i.e., I've installed latest ones from Realtek but the utility won't run at all... sometimes not always. I've never researched in depth about this issue and its solution, if exists.

4. ofernandofilo

ofernandofilo MDL Member

Sep 26, 2015
    #4 ofernandofilo, Jul 4, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
    I worked as a computer technician store for many years, and except for a few notebooks that only worked with the version available from the manufacturer of the notebook, usually the best driver is the latest version provided by the card manufacturer. It is usually the most stable and with better performance.

Lately, the drivers provided by Windows Update has been very good too. A few years ago most of them were completely unusable despite officially recommended.

If the system is working, do not change. This is the golden rule. But if it is working with problems try in this order: latest official version of the card manufacturer, the latest version available on Windows Update, last version of the notebook manufacturer (usually a stable version, but not a version with good performance), and, finally, the version made available by third parties, in forums or unofficial sites.

cheers

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Joe C

Joe C MDL Guru

Jan 12, 2012