so.. a noob question about this SLIC/OEM Swap Ordeal.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by FreeFromZull, Jul 30, 2009.

1. FreeFromZull

FreeFromZull MDL Novice

Jul 29, 2009
    - I got my modded BIOS
    - I am running the x64 RTM Ultimate

I did not do anything yet with the BIOS or the OEM Swap/Fix.

From what I understand, the modded BIOS fools Win 7 (Any Version), into thinking its the OEM Hardware and the OEM Swap/Fix therefore checks those certificates vs the BIOS SLIC Info and Activates Any Version of the Win 7 RTM as long as you did the OEM Fix/BIOS Mod.

Now, the question is, all those activated OS' will stop working once Microsoft blacklists the keys used in the OEM Swap?

I am not sure, but it seems like only a temporary solution if those activations are going to be revoked do to blacklisting, and or Windows Update will cease to work?

Sorry, Super Noob here in these matters, please be gentle :)

2. Bax!

Bax! MDL Member

Jul 29, 2009
    I think it's a good question... I thought the same :)

If the pc companies images had been distributed to thousands of customers it would be near impossible to blacklist the serial. But given that NO customers even have the machines yet with Win 7 on.... why wouldnt MS simply blacklist the key and it will not update or do anything like a legal copy???

3. Rosco

Rosco MDL Addicted

Oct 29, 2007
    Ok lets assume they change the Certificate key combination and even the Bios SLIC - this will destroy any legit OEM machines and you cannot get me to believe that the OEMs have not had orders for the BIOS SLIC mods for some time now.

But even if they did the worst that will happen is a new set of Mods will work and then M$ can't do anything without risking all the OEM machines. If they destroy OEM sales they might as well GPL the windows code.