[Solved] Can't Get Windows 10 To Activate (Using Daz in Win 7)

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by DaGoz, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    #1 DaGoz, Mar 9, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
    As the title says, I'm having a hard time getting Windows to activate. I have a custom built PC (not from a big manufacturer) that came with a Chinese version of Windows 10 installed. It wouldn't fully boot up (gave some error message in Chinese), so I tried to install English Windows 10 and hoped it would activate. Of course, no such luck.

    So I formatted the PC and installed Windows 7 Pro and activated with Daz. From there, I tried the gatherosstate method, install Windows 10 Pro, but it said I didn't have a genuine license. Back to square one, format, install Windows 7 again, activate with Daz, this time try upgrading with the Windows 10 ISO. Same result: No valid license.

    When I previously had this problem, I managed to get around it by using the Assistive Technologies update method, but the road has been closed.

    I'm stumped at this point. I guess I could try downloading the Windows 10 update, but I don't see why the two methods I used before wouldn't work. Is it possible the PC was activated with another version of Windows before and I'm somehow "locked" out of activating with a different version now? Does anyone have any suggestions what to try?

    FWIW, I followed the advice in this thread:

    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...te-upgrade-process.64770/page-83#post-1416509

    But I skipped the step about installing the drivers in Windows 7. Is that really an important step? Could that be what's causing my trouble? Should I backup the drivers I have in my (unactivated) Windows 10 now and restore them on the Windows 7 instance before trying to upgrade? There ARE a lot of drivers missing in Windows 7...... But does it make a difference?

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,578
    22,174
    340
    Yep, indeed. Mainboard, Network and CPU (if there are any) drivers installed in my tests always led to success :g:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    Ah, ok. So if I backup the drivers in Windows 10 and restore them in Windows 7, it should work?
     
  4. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,578
    22,174
    340
    Doubt that will work. Check the manufacturer site of your mainboard for Win 7 drivers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mxman2k

    mxman2k MDL Developer

    Jun 20, 2007
    2,403
    5,128
    90
    At a absolute minimum would be the LAN driver on Windows 7 to do the upgrade path to Win 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. AlexRuiz

    AlexRuiz MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    33
    12
    0
    LAN is a must. No LAN, no working ticket.
    I suggest motherboard chipset drivers and LAN.
     
  7. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    Ok, thanks for the feedback, everyone! I'm reinstalling Windows 7 as we speak, will give it a shot and report back in about an hour.

    Thanks again!
     
  8. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    Yes but he said that the upgrade method from win7 activated with DAZ didn't work either.
     
  9. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,578
    22,174
    340
    What has your question to do with the post you quoted? When the mandatory driver install on the Win 7 system is skipped, none of the ways will work. Doesn't matter how the ticket is generated, be it automatically via the upgrade or via the manual route.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    That's what i wanted to know through the comment i posted and you've just answered to it.
     
  11. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    #12 DaGoz, Mar 9, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
    (OP)
    Just popping in with a play-by-play update:

    I've been working through the Device Manager in Windows 7, eliminating the yellow badges one by one. There's only the USB Controller and High-Definition Audio Device left. I'm going to get them all, and run Windows Update to boot.

    By my understanding, after this, there's no reason I shouldn't be able to activate via DAZ/gatherosstate. Hoping it was worth it!
     
  12. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    #13 DaGoz, Mar 9, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
    (OP)
    Final post: Yep, that did the trick! After I got rid of all the yellow badges in Windows 7 and ran Windows Update a few times, I installed Windows 10 (stay offline), reboot, put the Genuine Ticket in the proper folder (still offline), reboot, then connect to wifi. Windows was activated before I could even check the activation status.

    I had a thread a long time ago on here where I was having the same problem, and I'll bet it was because my computers were missing too many drivers. Live and learn!

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  13. lsulsu

    lsulsu MDL Novice

    Jan 14, 2010
    11
    5
    0
    I think that the chinese win10 was not really activated. Some computers do no longer support win7. Your win10 need kms-activation now.
     
  14. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    He managed to get his win10 activated.
    His problem was that there were missing drivers that prevented the win10 activation to be done either with the ticket method or through the upgrade method, once he has downloaded and installed the right win7 drivers, the problem was solved.
     
  15. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    67
    9
    0
    Yeah, who knows. As I said, the computer wouldn't even fully boot into the Chinese Windows 10. It would get to the part with the blue windows logo on the black screen and the "loading" circle, then some error message would come up.

    In the end, it doesn't matter now. The point is, to anyone who finds this thread later:


    UPDATE YOUR DRIVERS IN WINDOWS 7 BEFORE UPGRADING TO WINDOWS 10. It's actually an important step!
     
  16. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,796
    462
    90
    #17 MS_User, Mar 12, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
    U dont even need to install win 7.....install win 10 clean install go in the activation window use the win 7 key and activate....just make sure if u installing win10 pro ... your win 7 key most be pro...if u installing win10 home your win7 key must be home....trust me it works i do it a bunch of times already...if u get the error at the bottom u will se a option in red to check the key just click on it and will activate the license ...i dont know if is a MS security activation flaw.
     
  17. Julius

    Julius MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    50
    4
    0
    If you don't mind me askin' - if I have 7 ult. presently activated, and fetch my key, which version number of 10 should I put on a dvd to install? does it matter?
    also, I just bought a fresh new unformatted ssd to install it to, any problems you might foresee?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,578
    22,174
    340
    This will only work with Retail keys or for OEM systems with the key from the COA sticker (these systems are by default shipped with generic OEM:SLP keys which won't give HWID activation).

    The Win 10 version doesn't matter.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Julius

    Julius MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    50
    4
    0
    OK - thanks for the come back...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...