[SOLVED] error 0x800f081e messeage trying to change default language

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by norky, Nov 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. norky

norky MDL Novice

Nov 11, 2011
    Hi All,

Just found this forum searching Google for solutions to my error message. I've searched the forum but didn't find exact answer so here's my issue:

I've just bought a private-built PC with Japanese W7 Home Premium OS and trying to change it to US English without paying Microsoft for the Ultimate upgrade. I've found the following instructions on the Internet that I've followed:

Obviously I substituted the hu-HU lang references with en-US and downloaded that MUI pack from the 2nd suggested site. The first line of CMD (the DISM command) started running successfully but then I got this error message and other OS details (sorry again, I am new so it doesn't allow me to post the screenshot):

I am not a techie but seems to me that my downloaded en-US language pack is not the right version to my OS version. If so where could I find the right US lang pack? Or if I am way off then what's the problem?

Some more details:
    - private-built PC; don't know the original owner but came with the original JP W7 HP installation DVD, if needed.

Thanks a million in advance,
    Norbert

2. norky

norky MDL Novice

Nov 11, 2011
    Thanks!
    I've looked at Vistalizator - is this really safe? Have you actually tried this? The Express install says that some lang pack updated have to be installed within Vistalizator - is this gonna be a permanent feature i.e. would I have to always use Vistalizator to do lang updates??? Or it only applies to the first time right after installation?

Or wouldn't it be safer to use the original method I tried, this time with the new lang pack I downloaded from your link? If so then is there a way to convert this ISO format to cab or would I have to burn it and run it from a DVD?