[Solved] lenovo all in one c340

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by logicwatch, Mar 12, 2018.

  1. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi puzzled with a lenovo all in one C340 desktop.
    It just hangs on the lenovo splash screen when its switched on
    There are no prompts or options to enter the bios etc.
    Have tried the usual have removed the hard drive swapped out ram / removed bios battery etc.
    still no go cannot enter bios or boot PC it just stays on lenovo splash screen.
    tried moving cmos jumper on board to clear bios with same result still hangs on splash screen.
    So thought as a last attempt I would try to reflash the bios but lenovo have no option on their support site to download the bios for this model so I am unable to try a block boot recovery ( assuming this of course is the fault ? )
    Any other suggestions I would be grateful
    regards
    :)
     
  2. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    After doing some research on the net about your problem, it seems that removing the dvd drive solved the problem for many people who have faced the same problem as yours.
     
  3. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi
    thanks for the reply mehdibleu
    The dvd drive was also removed but alas same lenovo splash screen !!
    its either a faulty board or corrupt bios too bad I am unable to do a block boot recovery !
    if I cannot access the bios I assume it is bad ?
    Its poor lenovo have no download for the original bios ?
    :(
     
  4. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    No go thanks anyway for the suggestion
    What I have found is that if I press the tab key when I power on it displays the bios info version etc but wont load if I then push F1 it states entering set up but thats as far as it will go the bios screen never loads ?
    guess its corrupted ?
     
  5. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    have you tried the solution that was offered in the link i gave you ?
     
  6. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    yes it didnt work
    I guess if its hanging on the message entering setup all is not good here !!!
    :(
     
  7. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    214
    60
    how did this problem happen ?
    it seems it's the bios that is causing this issue, a bios update would probably fix this issue but as you said haven't found any bios update for you pc model in the site support.
     
  8. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    looks like I am well and truly stuck with no bios available to reflash I have hit a brick wall with this PC ?
    American Megatrends 2011
    bios date 12/03/12
    version ELKT29A
     
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    17,268
    21,954
    340
    I once needed to remove the cpu and ram, next removed the cmos batt and use the clear cmos jumper, put the jumper back on the default position (or on some mobo's just remove the jumper) next put the cpu and ram back in, the cmos batt in and boot it up.
    This was asked to do by asus tech support, they called it a deep reset.
     
  10. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi
    Already tried reseating cpu and all of the above its still the same
    thanks anyway.
    without a bios to download I am stuck ?
    clearly lenovo dont want us to be able to fix it ourselves !
    :mad:
     
  11. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,626
    1,447
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi joe thanks for your response
    I can try the program but doubt that it will boot when all I get is the Lenovo splash screen on startup ?
    with no boot options or bios dont hold out much hope.
    will update you
    Thanks
     
  13. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi
    Thanks for the suggestion above however as a Lenovo All in one PC it was a long shot using a HP fix however it did not work
    and the boot cd also was a no go.
    I think its either the dustbin or pay Lenovo to service it I am afraid !
    regards
    :(
     
  14. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,626
    1,447
    90
    #15 Joe C, Mar 13, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi
    I have a lenovo all in one c340
    I think the bios is corrupt as it always hangs on the lenovo splash screen on start up
    I cannot enter setup/ bios
    the best I can get with it is when its on the lenovo splash screen if I hit the tab key it shows

    American Megatrends 2011
    bios date 12/03/12
    version ELKT29A


    if I then hit F1 it hangs on entering setup but never moves to bios/ setup
    I would like to try a block boot recovery however the Lenovo support site has no download available so I have reached a brick wall.
    I am reaching out to somebody knowledgeable in this bios forum who might be able to point me in the right direction to obtain a bios to reflash this PC.
    From what I have researched if I move the cmos pins and start up the pc with a bios on a cd it will start this process.
    Can anybody help please ?
    regards
     
  16. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,452
    1,489
    180
    unplug hdd and dvd and reset cmos batt.
     
  17. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Thanks but already tried this I am afraid its looking like the bios is corrupted
     
  18. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,452
    1,489
    180
    time for Ch341A and make 2 backups of both bios and Embedded Controler.

    flash full .bin dump with proper model c340-####
     
  19. logicwatch

    logicwatch MDL Senior Member

    Jan 26, 2011
    250
    22
    10
    Hi
    How can I do this when I cannot access PC within windows use a boot cd / or enter the bios ?
    regards