[Solved] Partition Table lost - Testdisk fails to write GPT (MBR works)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by KNARZ, Oct 4, 2014.

1. KNARZ

KNARZ MDL Addicted

Oct 9, 2012
    #1 KNARZ, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
    Hm...
    I don't know how and when (today) but my 3TB WD HDD lost it's Partitiontable.
    I fixed a few HDDs with Testdisk but this one doesn't allow me to do what I want. I'm not an expert on recovery as "Quick" or "Deep search" (in Testdisk) always did the job for me.

My problem is I also that I really don't know the format MBR or GPT as also I don't know the sectorsize.

I guess(ed) it's GPT with 4KB or 8KB... I exprimented a little with GPT/MBR and size. I know that I have 3 partitions with 1Tb, 1TB, rest (760GB or something). The only matching setting I can achieve (by testdisk) the 1Gb 1Gb 760GB structur is by 512KB sector and with MBR. But this doesn't fix the Partitions. - Also testdisk gives errors about NTFS sectorsize which should be 1024 or something (512 != 1024).

Any attempt to write a GPT to the Disk ends with "write error". Under Window and Linux (bought current Partition Magic ISO for this). I only can edit the partitiontable with Intel/MBR settings. I don't really get it and don't know what to do now.

ATM I'm copying all my stuff (nearly 2TB) within Testdisk (list/copy files) to another HDD (my Just in Case HDD - not it is the case!) It get's all read out but will take hours.
    Maybe someone can help or has a clue/guess what could might be the problem?!

I would donate donate 10 bucks and Partition Magic for a solving answer... This Issue took and still take me down a whole f* day.

2. KNARZ

KNARZ MDL Addicted

Oct 9, 2012
    #2 KNARZ, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
    (OP)
    Okay solved the issue.