SOLVED: Serial Port on host machine doesn't work, if a client is connected with RDP

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Myrrh, Jan 29, 2015.

1. Myrrh

Myrrh MDL Expert

Nov 26, 2008
    #1 Myrrh, Jan 29, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2015
    This may not be specific to Win10, to be honest I've never tried it before.

We have an old phone system, the administration of it is through a dumb terminal with RS232C connection.

I have replaced the terminal with a computer. I'm using PuTTY connected to COM1 to administer the phone system. Everything works well when I'm connected locally.

The reason I did this is so I can administer from somewhere else. My desk in a different part of the same building, or from home over VPN. In either case I will connect to the computer with RDP.

Problem is, when I'm connected remotely, I cannot get the COM port to do anything. If I walk back in there and login locally, I get a popup from putty about a serial port error. Then I can restart the session and it will connect. Once I'm connected, I can then go back to my office and connect to the machine over RDP and it works. But if the connection ever drops, I have to login locally again.

I am not talking about serial port redirection. The RDP host machine is the one with the serial port. It just doesn't work from a client connection.

Did I miss some configuration step somewhere?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Myrrh

Myrrh MDL Expert

Nov 26, 2008
    Wow, nobody has encountered this before?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. arseny92

arseny92 MDL Secret Weapon

Sep 22, 2009
    Most users nowadays don't have these jurassic period ports on their machines to be able to try to reproduce this issue ;) Just to confirm, emulating something via a software-emulated COM/LPT in a VM or on a Bluetooth connection then sending that session to RDP, reproduces this?

4. Myrrh