Sony VAIO CS17G: BIOS Recovery - Help!

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Parry, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Hi,

    I tried updating the BIOS of my Sony Vaio CS-17G notebook to the latest updates given at the Sony Support Website. It's an Insyde BIOS, i tried updating my BIOS to version R0290Q2.

    Everything went fine, got message 'BIOS updated successfully', 'Press OK to shut down.' Pressed ok & now nothing's okay. The system is not booting up!

    Tried the following troubleshooting, but no luck;
    1) Pressing F2, F8 & F10 keys.
    2) Disconnected the AC Adapter, removed the battery & pressed the power button for 60secs.

    Pls assist.
     
  2. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    Why dont you reflash the original bios from usb drive?
     
  3. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Thanks venu for your reply. Wana do that exactly but cannot figure where to get the original bios file.

    Can you assist?
     
  4. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    That file is available on the sony support site.
     
  5. timesurfer

    timesurfer MDL Developer

    Nov 22, 2009
    8,527
    4,065
    270
    Also after you follow venu's advice then make sure to read in the bios mod section how to flash at boot instead of inside windows for best results dude:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Guys ... finally the motherboard has been replaced by Sony under Warranty!!! :yeah:

    venu & timesurfer, thanks a lot for your support & assistance. :worthy:

    Just got it home & checking it. Will update.
     
  7. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Found these issues with my new motherboard:

    1) On re-boot am getting a PXE error message;
    2) The vista is loading up a bit slowly.

    Pls assist.

     
  8. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    get into the bios settings and check your boot order. the message you're getting comes from the pc trying to boot from the network.
    Otherwise, If everything is fine in the bios, you need to disconnect and reconnect your hdd or take it to the repair shop.
     
  9. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Thanks venu for your reply, will check & update.
     
  10. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Exactly, checked my boot configuration it had;

    External Device: Enabled
    Network: Enabled

    I disabled network as boot configuration, pressed F10 for Save & Exit. There was a black screen for about a minute or so.
    Then I re-booted enabled the network boot configuration & notebook re-booted as earlier with the error message.
     
  11. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    doesnt sound good, you mean you couldnt boot into your os after disabling network boot? is your hdd the first boot device?
     
  12. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    In BIOS, under boot am getting this;

    No where its HDD is the first boot device. :confused:
    FYI: Its an InsydeH20 Setup Utility Rev. 3.5
     
  13. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    You can try the following things.
    1) is there a setting in your bios to auto detect the hdd? If there is turn it on.
    1) Check your cables are snugly connected to both motherboard and hdd.
    2) boot from a linux cd (like knoppix) or bart PE or Ultimate boot cd and check whether your hard drive shows up.
    3) take out your hdd and connect to another computer's motherboard and see whether it is recognized there.

    Also since your machine just came back with a new mobo from the repair shop, contact them again. its probably their fault.
     
  14. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    That's exactly what am planning to do first, have mailed them the details. Waiting for their reply.
     
  15. Parry

    Parry MDL Junior Member

    Mar 11, 2010
    90
    1
    0
    Finally got the thing done from Sony, I guess they flashed the BIOS with latest version. :)
     
  16. naveen3

    naveen3 MDL Novice

    Sep 23, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    my sony vaio VGN CS17G not working.

    need help.
    it stopped suddenly. not booting with HDD or any other external device like USB flash drive or network.
    Tech person replaced nvidia card and other IDE controller chip.
    now says need to reprogram BIOS.
    Because it is not booing from hdd or other method the exe(provided on sony website) file is not useful

    any help will be greatly helpful.

    thanks
    Naveen
     
  17. xdx

    xdx MDL Novice

    Mar 19, 2011
    5
    0
    0
    hello
    my sony vaio start with black screen
    there are any method to flash sony vaio ?