SSD = Too Fast for Mapped Network Drives (HELP)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Simpuhl, Jun 10, 2014.

  1. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    So basically I updated to an SSD. Its super fast, how ever each time I restart my computer I get an error that the network drives couldn't be loaded because basically my computer is loading too fast. I get an annoying message each time and I have to double click my network drive so it connects.

    The main reason this sucks is because my uTorrent is set to auto start and all the files need to be re-checked.

    Anybody have any idea's on how to prevent this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    You could delete the drive mappings so they do not automatically connect.

    Then create a simple batch file to mount the drives at startup, if you find that they are not connecting still then you can edit the batch file and write a little delay.
    Create a custom task in Windows to run this batch file after startup and you can run it minimised or hidden so you do not see any visible signs.

    If you cannot do this yourself then just ask again and I am sure a batch file can be whipped up.
     
  3. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #3 Simpuhl, Jun 12, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2014
    (OP)
    If possible, and only if you have time could you make a batch file to map the drive along with launch utorrent a few seconds after?

    Then ill just unmap them and make utorrent not auto start. They will auto disconnect after each shut down correct and re-connect after with the batch file?

    Its setup the map these two folders:

    \\SIMPUHL\music (NAMED Music)
    \\SIMPUHL\video (Named Movies)

    uTorrent is located in
    C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    #4 f33nix, Jun 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I would try the batch file loading at startup to map the drives, then see if uTorrent will load ok...

    If it does not work then try this: (not tested, but should work... also assumes no password for your mapped drives)

    Code:
    @Echo Off
    Title Map network drives
    
    
    :: This will map the 2 locations shown to the drive letters, non-permanent.
    :: Where M: is for Music and V: is for Video's
    NET USE M: \\SIMPUHL\music /persistent:no
    NET USE V: \\SIMPUHL\video /persistent:no
    
    
    :: Now ping your own computer for a few seconds to allow time to connect...
    :: Where /n 10 sets the count
    :: Optional... write >nul onto the end of the command for no visual output...
    
    :: If you find the drives are not mapping still due to speed of SSD, then place a ping at the start of the batch file!!!
    :: This way the network interface has had time to load.
    Ping 127.0.0.1 /n 10
    
    
    :: Now load up uTorrent
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe"
    
    
    :: Exit the batch file...
    EXIT
    
     
  5. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #5 Simpuhl, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
    (OP)
    Seems to be working great, is there anyway to run the window hidden?

    Also "EXIT" doesn't seem to work once I had it load utorrent.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe" /MINIMIZED

    seems to work a little better. ill test and post full results in a few
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #7 Simpuhl, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    OK!!! This is exactly how I have it and it works great. The .bat file is located in the startup for all users folder.

    Code:
    @Echo Off
    Title Map network drives
    
    
    
    
    :: This will map the 2 locations shown to the drive letters, non-permanent.
    :: Where M: is for Music and V: is for Video's
    NET USE Y: \\SIMPUHL\music /persistent:no
    NET USE X: \\SIMPUHL\video /persistent:no
    
    
    
    
    :: Now ping your own computer for a few seconds to allow time to connect...
    :: Where /n 10 sets the count
    :: Optional... write >nul onto the end of the command for no visual output...
    
    
    :: If you find the drives are not mapping still due to speed of SSD, then place a ping at the start of the batch file!!!
    :: This way the network interface has had time to load.
    :: Ping 127.0.0.1 /n 10
    
    
    
    
    :: Now load up uTorrent
    start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe" /MINIMIZED
    
    
    
    
    :: Exit the batch file...
    EXIT
    
    My last question is, if there was an ERROR, and the drives did not map (network drive is off etc etc) is there anyway to make it PAUSE and NOT open utorrent?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Hmm

    I can try this

    or the ping thing your saying. Im headed to work ill play around once I am home
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    #10 murphy78, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    He's right about the errorlevel stuff...
    If you do the net use command followed by:
    Code:
    IF %ERRORLEVEL% NEQ 0 (ECHO There was a problem connecting the drive.&&pause)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #11 Simpuhl, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    so just add that 1 line and im good? ima turn off my server and try it. hope i dont have to "recheck all my files". Theres no way for it to keep trying to connect until it does and then proceed to open utorrent?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    it paused and said press any key to continue which is good. but I accidentally continued and fked myself lol. if i change &&pause to &&exit would it skip that completely? and close instead of opening utorrent since it errored and I don't want it to now?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    #13 murphy78, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yah, if you add the &&exit, it will exit if the pause command is successful. If you just use one & it will run regardless of the errorlevel of the pause command.
    Both methods should work as you intend.
    You could also do a small loop to keep trying to map the drive:
    Code:
    @Echo Off
    Title Map network drives
    
    for /l %%x in (1,1,5) do (NET USE M: \\SIMPUHL\music /persistent:no
    IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 0 GOTO :PROCEED1)
    
    :Exit after loop if failure after 5x
    ECHO There was a problem connecting the drive.&pause&exit
    
    :PROCEED1
    for /l %%y in (1,1,5) do (NET USE V: \\SIMPUHL\video /persistent:no
    IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 0 GOTO :PROCEED2)
    
    :Exit after loop if failure after 5x
    ECHO There was a problem connecting the drive.&pause&exit
    
    :PROCEED2
    IF NOT EXIST M:\* EXIT
    IF NOT EXIST V:\* EXIT
    
    start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe" /MINIMIZED
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Hey thank you so much, ill try this tomorrow morning and let you know if everything works out. this forum and the people are amazing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Hmm, its not connecting with my admin rights... any idea how to make it connect using a username and password
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #16 Simpuhl, Jun 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I had to use this:

    Code:
    @Echo Off
    Title Map network drives
    
    
    for /l %%x in (1,1,5) do (NET USE M: \\SIMPUHL\music /USER:USER PASSWORD /persistent:no
    
    
    IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 0 GOTO :PROCEED1)
    
    
    :Exit after loop if failure after 5x
    ECHO There was a problem connecting the drive.&pause&exit
    
    
    :PROCEED1
    for /l %%y in (1,1,5) do (NET USE V: \\SIMPUHL\video /USER:USER PASSWORD /persistent:no
    IF %ERRORLEVEL% EQU 0 GOTO :PROCEED2)
    
    
    :Exit after loop if failure after 5x
    ECHO There was a problem connecting the drive.&pause&exit
    
    
    :PROCEED2
    IF NOT EXIST M:\* EXIT
    IF NOT EXIST V:\* EXIT
    
    
    start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe" /MINIMIZED
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    s**t, you changed my drive letters and fked me lol. re-checking 300 torrents. ahahha.

    I fixed them though. This should work then.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,496
    633
    60
    M8 with so many torrents why are you even turning your system Off? Just leave it on 24/7 & you won't have your issue!
     
  18. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    I do, I just had put the SSD on and restarted and noticed the error. It annoyed me so I wanted to fix it lol. This comp has been on for like 7 months straight
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    Glad you got it sorted out, I have been working for last few days solid so unable to help, but good ole Murphy78 and his scripting skills sorted you out :groupwave: