Starter background changer

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by zolookas, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    #1 zolookas, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  2. secr9tos

    secr9tos MDL Addicted

    Jul 28, 2009
    999
    133
    30
    #2 secr9tos, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
    I can't test it 'cause I don't have Win7 Starter but I looked at the source code instead:D. Good work.
     
  3. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    #3 zolookas, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
    (OP)
    I believe Home Basic has an option to change wallpaper. This application is meant for starter which can't do it :)
     
  4. secr9tos

    secr9tos MDL Addicted

    Jul 28, 2009
    999
    133
    30
    #4 secr9tos, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
    Oops. I meant Starter of course:D
     
  5. Rudi1

    Rudi1 MDL Member

    May 30, 2007
    206
    66
    10
    I am tested your program inWindows 7 Starter N edition and work like a sharm!
    Thank you zolookas and happy holiday!:)
     
  6. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    #6 zolookas, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
    (OP)
    Happy holidays to you too :)

    ----------------------------

    EDIT: New release 1.1 restores registry permissions on uninstall (needed if you are upgrading or upgraded Windows using Windows Anytime Upgrade and want to use Windows built-in background chooser)

    ----------------------------
     
  7. PAYMYRENT

    PAYMYRENT MDL Developer

    Jul 28, 2009
    1,462
    419
    60
    i have this in vb.net if anyone wants to play with it :p
     
  8. Bagheera

    Bagheera MDL Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    146
    0
    10
    gonna test this one!
    Have bought a asus eee with win7 starter for the wife.....

    Ans yes i did f**ked up (black screen) hehehehe
    so this tool is needed :)

    you will hear from me...

    greetz. Bagheera
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    #9 zolookas, Dec 24, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
    (OP)
    Have you used any other wallpaper changers? It could be you have used the one which patches checksum.

    Anyway, I am going to release 1.2 with background color selection soon. Just need to test it on fresh Starter install.
     
  10. M.S.Y

    M.S.Y MDL Novice

    Dec 24, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Thank you, Sir​
     
  11. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    Version 1.2 released with desktop background color selection support :)
     
  12. vladxed666

    vladxed666 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    289
    50
    10
    i Think he meant he killed the machine by using other methods of changing the wallpaper that resulted to a black screen.

    So he will try this one instead...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    Yes, I know. That question was not related with message about the release.
     
  14. vladxed666

    vladxed666 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    289
    50
    10
    #14 vladxed666, Dec 24, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
    sorry just tryin to help... nice job with the color changer...

    I like how the program blends in with windows and the way you designed it to be built in with the shell...

    Im actually installit it slipstreamed onto a Win7 Lite Starter CD
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    Ok, no problems :)

    Test if it works for you. And if you will find any bugs, report it here :)
     
  16. vladxed666

    vladxed666 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    289
    50
    10
    works perfectly here... I'm still installing Windows 7 Starter that have this tool slipstreamed...
    will post back after testing..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    Hold on, i think i have found how to change wallpaper without logging off :)
    So far, it seems it works :)
     
  18. Bagheera

    Bagheera MDL Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    146
    0
    10
    Iam running a acronis backup now before i test the tool... i grabbed the latest..few sec. back thnxs.

    I f**ked up due to poking around in reg and dll's.. googled,tried to,f**ked..lol


    Am curious about this one...

    After backup, gonna test it...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. vladxed666

    vladxed666 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    289
    50
    10
    alright... cancelled installation wiped out hard disk..

    Waiting for Update to Commence Deployment...
    :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    #20 zolookas, Dec 24, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
    (OP)
    Ok, 1.3 released. Now there is no need to log off unless you have changed background color (i have not found a way how to update it instantly). Maybe I will take a look into that tomorrow.

    And would anybody like to have an additional "Apply" button?