Strange oem install message

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by weberman, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. weberman

    weberman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 4, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    I have tried an OEM install on a Gigabyte 2.1 bios motherboard. I have done this many times in the past, but now I get message in the Control Panel/System page that I have never seen before.

    3 days until automatic activation. Activate Windows Now.:confused:

    The OEM files Gigabyte info and wall paper etc.

    Is this something ne or do I need to do something.

    I will wait the three days, I guess, and se what happens.:confused:
     
  2. bpwnes

    bpwnes MDL Member

    Aug 11, 2015
    151
    27
    10
    That message means Windows isn't currently activated. If you are doing SLP and it already has the key & cert installed, you can try from an admin command prompt > "slmgr.exe /ato"
     
  3. weberman

    weberman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 4, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    I tried and got Product Activation Failed. Could the key be blacklisted. I know there is no true Gigabyte key.

    Suggestions!
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,510
    13,568
    340
    #4 Enthousiast, Apr 25, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
    Is it a legit OEM system or a selfbuild system and did you mod the bios? Or did you use DAZ' Windows Loader (it's frequently misused as "OEM" activation)? Did you use the Multi_OEM Project files without having a slic2.1 table in the bios?
     
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,215
    14,777
    340
    @weberman

    Post an MGADIAG report, along with a screenshot of SLIC Toolkit advanced tab.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. weberman

    weberman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 4, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    It is a self built with a modded 2.1 Gigabyte UEFI bios. Installed as a Gigabyte system. All the Gigabyte logo and wallpapers, even the tech support number. No loader of any kind used.
     
  7. weberman

    weberman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 4, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    Well, I have trouble now. I read on another thread in this forum about the No Slic with UEFI and it said to use RWEverything. I installed RWEverything and it killed my computer. I no longer have a boot device and the bios does not even have a boot section in it.

    All I get is No Boot Device and an Enter Setup option.

    It is a good thing, I don't need this computer for a while.

    If I could get it up and running (activated) I was going to upgrade to Windows 10.

    There is probably a way to go straight to WIN 10 but I can't seem to find the way without a valid serial.

    I am giving up for now I guess as I have been fooling with this almost all day. (UEFI has changed the ball a bit) I have a 5 TB HD that I want to use in the biggest configuration possible (GPT)

    Thanks for the input and suggestions.

    WEB
     
  8. weberman

    weberman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 4, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    After a little research it looks like the key that is in the Gigabyte file is the blocked DELL key XXXXX-OEM-8992662-00497. Is it possible to insert a different key into the Gigabyte file?

    Just a brain storm.

    WEB
     
  9. CaptainKirk1966

    CaptainKirk1966 Former MDL Guru

    Oct 31, 2009
    1,896
    906
    60
    #10 CaptainKirk1966, Apr 26, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    There are no blocked oem;slp Dell keys. If you wish to use oem;slp method, you must first solve your missing slic problem. It sure sounds like you bios mod attempt failed.

    Edit - the partial key in your mgadiag is an asus key, not a dell