System Imaging\Deployment Questions (Clonezilla)

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by mountbaldy, Jun 6, 2016.

1. mountbaldy

mountbaldy MDL Novice

May 31, 2016
    Hi all,

I'm a new sys admin looking for any advice on deploying images in a large organization (school district). I currently help administer 400+ computers. The majority of our organization is running Windows 7. We have about 100 computers that are new as of last year. These machines are all the same model. They are UEFI. Our biggest hurdle has been to successfully create and deploy an image on these machines.

I ran through a fresh install of Windows 7 and all updates. Then I install Office 2016 and then image. I add each machine to the domain after I push the image to it. We recently started using Clonezilla to clone and deploy our images. The problem I run into is upon boot up of the newly imaged machine (clone), I get a BSOD and Windows boots into system recovery console. I try running the recovery and the recovery fails. I have successfully pushed clones on this model going machine to machine with Clonezilla.

I'm assuming that this is because I have not ran sysprep on the machine prior to cloning. I'm going to try this and see what happens.

Also, my method has been to create an image. Store said image on a network share. Boot from CD or USB flash drive into clonezilla and pull the image from the network share. Is this the quickest method? Or is their a better way? All of our organization is on the same subnet/domain.

My other issue has been the time that it takes to push these images across our network. We use gig switches and fiber between buildings so infrastructure shouldn't really be an issue. Also our school system is not in session so it's not a bandwidth problem either. The size of these images aren't super huge either.

Please give me insight if their is a better method. Thanks!

Cheers,

Joe

2. TrustMe

TrustMe MDL Member

May 2, 2013
    Hi and welcome to MDL,