The properties for this item are not available

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Simpuhl, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    I have not been able to find anything helpful on the internet about this issue, I was wondering if anybody here would be able to help me out?

    Firstly, I am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

    Here is the issue, if I "right-click" -> Properties on anything thats in the "My Computer" folder for example "C drive" and I click properties I get the following Error:

    Title: Desktop
    Error Message: The properties for this item are not available

    This includes any hard drive, flash drive, and networked drive and everything else there.

    I have found only a few topics on the internet about the issue but none of them have been able to help me. Any suggestions would highly be appreciated.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    #2 s1ave77, Apr 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Did you check system with

    Code:
    sfc /scannow
    ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    I've tried that, no help.

    I also tried the registry file suggested on another forum.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Going to wait a couple days before trying that. Ill see if anybody else comes up with a resolution
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Importing the reg file didn't work :g: ? Consider the Repair Install, it will preserve all files, settings and programs :good3:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    If I cannot figure it out today ill most likely do that. I am off of work tomorrow so probably tomorrow. I may also upgrade to an SSD.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Ok check it out... I was finally able to do the repair install. Everything works fine again except My Windows won't activate now.

    I used the same Windows 7 Ultimate to do the repair install.

    MTK says this: <Cannot Activate because this product is incapable of KMS Activation.>

    Any suggestions? FML.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Nevermind.

    Had to use Windows Loader
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. smlm17

    smlm17 Guest

    I fully agree. Only this way you have peace of mind :cool: