Thinking about an SSD for my Netbook. Bottom line. Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by donalgodon, Aug 17, 2010.

1. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    I'm pretty new to the world of Windows, as a Linux/MacOS/Ubuntu user, I've recently acquired an Asus Netbook (UL-30) that I've considered swapping the HD for an SSD, but I've heard so much conflicting info that my head is spinning.

I trust the judgement of those with more experience here, so I'd just like to ask you all. Given the pros/cons of the SDD at present, is it really worth the upgrade price and loss of storage space?

I'd be going from a 500GB 5400RPM drive to a 64GB Kingston V series 425 with TRIM support.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

What I'm looking for is: Quietness, (the Seagate 5400.6 is noisy) fast booting, reliability, and power savings, and I've seen that in the latter, there is some substantial debate, with many suggesting that SSD actually uses more power, not less.

2. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    I should mention that I don't use most of the space. In total, I use about 35 GB.

3. zen45

zen45 MDL Addicted

Feb 25, 2010
    i have installed a corsair ssd 128 gig in my desktop ($300) its fast about 25-35 seconds to the desktop finished screen (kaspersky macroexpert Evga precision and a few orthers) are in the startup also i have halflife 2 bioshock 2 and a few other games on it so startup times for the games are pretty quick, so yea ssd will speed u up but if i where u i would get at least a 80 gig ssd. shop around the prices vari alot for the same ssd it is a lot cheeper to buy online from newegg or someone like that

4. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    From what I see in the specs, most of the SSDs use more power than HDDs (in some cases double). Is that really the case?! I'm a bit surprised, given the way they're marketed. I smell a class-action suit in the pipeline.

5. Pegatron

Pegatron MDL Member