Tips to reduce disk space usage significantly!

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Matrix Leader, Aug 28, 2010.

1. Matrix Leader

Matrix Leader MDL Addicted

Dec 8, 2009
    #1 Matrix Leader, Aug 28, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
    I have been using these tips for almost 3 years now and have never encountered a problem.

Perform these tricks below, then run a BOOT defrag using PerfectDisk, then remove any unwanted programs from startup and watch your diskpace go down by at least 1.5 GB and your boot up time should improve :worthy:

1) Restart your computer just to make sure any file we are deleting from temp directories is not in use or will be used once after a reboot.

2) Navigate to C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Local\Temp

Then delete all the files and folders in there.

3) Navigate to C:\ then delete the folder named MSOCACHE.

If you cannot see this folder, then make sure you have HIDDEN FILES enabled.

This folder is the temp directory for the MS Office installation files, if you have selected to RUN ALL FROM MY computer option next to all the components of MS Office that you installed, then you already have everything installed in the Program Files and will never need this folder....EVER

4) Navigate to C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download

Delete everything in that folder.

It is a 100% safe to delete everything in there as this is just the TEMP folder for Windows to download updates.

After you have installed the updates and restarted, you obviously don't want those huge *.cab, *.msi, and *.exe setup files eating up your diskspace.

5) Navigate to C:\Windows\Temp

6) If you dont use System Restore, turn it off and delete all existing restore points.

7)) If you dont use hibernation, disable it. Just type "powercfg -h off" at the command prompt. That'll disable hibernation and delete the large hibernation file hiberfil.sys.
    Delete everything in that folder as it only contains temporary files that are not critical nor required.