Toshiba A205-S7468 Recovery After Bad Flash

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by bluecatfish, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    Flashed BIOS in windows to add slic 2.1 computer froze up and black screen after restart. tried phoenix crisis disk recovery, no success. chip is a winbond 25x80vsig. unsoldered chip and attempted to made 2 backups. compared in hex editor and they were different. tried several times, no success. flashed chip with bios file, soldered on mb, no power or led's working.

    purchased a new winbond 25x80vsig and flashed with the bios file in the link below. did a read backup in the link below, it is different from the bios.rom flashed. have re-flashed, backed up, and checked several times, backup read is always the same when compared in hex editor, but different from the bios.rom file flashed. soldered chip to mb and connected power, nothing happens. unsoldered chip and tried flashing several more times with same results.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?29ljp732s4gwm46,5gpx8laltyfo5cb

    any advice appreciated.
     
  2. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
    what programmer hardware did u use?
     
  3. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    i used my en25t80 programmer with usb spi tinytool.exe software.
     
  4. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
    did u make a backup at 4k sectors and the right size ?

    strange that it made different reads. programmer or bios chip issue.. try new read and write comparison.
    tested your ram in your pc ? seen this to be a fault before.
     
  5. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
  6. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    @LatinMcG
    it is the same software as i am using. same computer, programmer and software that i successfully programmed and recovered my HP DV5-1183CL, so i don't think it is a ram problem. i set the programmer on 4k to flash and read. the bios.rom file size is 1.02mb. should i set the read length to 1M or 2M? do i need to use a different setting or is there another setting i need to make? i have the chip off the mb and i thought there might be a problem with the chip holder so i have made a new one and it made no difference.
     
  7. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
    likely 2 mb not 1

    im not sure if it needs it at 4k or 32 or 64.

    the programmer i preffer is the ezp2010 i found it easy no problems but its $35 so i got same as u with ATMega8L chip
     
  8. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    checked out the ezp2010 on ebay. would like to have one, but can't justify it just to occasionally program a chip. will just keep trying to make it work. thanks for you advice.
     
  9. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
    #9 LatinMcG, Feb 13, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
    k i took a look at it and winhex was driving me nuts.. checked it in HxD and it matches. so backup was exact. .plus extra data of laptop not in bios dload.
    try this http://www.mediafire.com/?tchyy3bz81srp9h

    from 6700 offset to FFFFFF offset is the bios 1 MB . the chip is 2 MB so i merged the bios.rom and made a205fixed.bin

    i dont think its bios.. but i might be wrong.. try it

    we might need a full dump of another A205 to compare the non downloadable sections of bios.

    by the way there is a reset pad (bios password reset) under memory sticker usually its XXX or B500 or J1 that might get laptop working again if bios is not corrupt.
     
  10. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    still trying to flash the bios. a205fixed.bin does the same as the other files. after writing and comparing the bios chip does not match the file wrote. will keep trying to sort it out. thanks for your help.
     
  11. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,263
    1,422
    180
    i wrote it and compared and showed line 0001000 has error. strange.. still try it or try the crisdisk or wincris for toshiba recovery method again
     
  12. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    after many tries was able to write bios file to chip, backed up and compared files in hex editor, they were the same. soldered on mb, assembled laptop, powered on and all led's on but no video. tried the wincrisis recovery, no go. i believe the onboard video chip solder is the problem again. reflowed it once before. time for a new mb or the junk pile. thanks for all your help LatinMcG.