toshiba bios password

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Hoppyah, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Hoppyah

    Hoppyah MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    286
    12
    10
    Anyway to clear this? m200 portege
     
  2. ricksy50

    ricksy50 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 15, 2009
    71
    2
    0
    on mine only if you know what the password is,it asks for the old one before you can reset it
     
  3. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    805
    60
    All you have to do is put your cmos jumper switch in the pwd reset or clear pwd position and that will reset the password. You can also download a programme from the web that will find your cmos password. Try googling "find cmos password". Hope this helps. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    805
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Hoppyah

    Hoppyah MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    286
    12
    10
    I'm not on about the cmos pwd.

    Thw one where you switch it on and it asks for a pwd
     
  6. wyrman

    wyrman MDL Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    244
    1
    10
    I take it you mean the logon password.
     
  7. Hoppyah

    Hoppyah MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    286
    12
    10
    yep thats the one
     
  8. ricksy50

    ricksy50 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 15, 2009
    71
    2
    0
    The windows logon?? or the toshiba startup password??
    If its the toshiba black screen start up password that is embedded in bios and no amount of removing battery or resetting bios will help,its a tosh security feature only service depts can read and reset the password,its expensive.
    The windows logon can be got using a linux disc just search for xp password reset.
     
  9. Hoppyah

    Hoppyah MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    286
    12
    10
    will that work on Toshiba black screen password :confused:doubt it
     
  10. chevyluvin

    chevyluvin MDL Novice

    Jan 25, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    I am not shure if this will help but none of the regular tools (printer port key,remove cmos battery,cmos password tools "it wont get to the point to run those") worked for me.
    so I found the service manual and it describes a floppy "diagnostic"/"setup" tool that you need to press "u" before starting and during startup of the laptop.
    in the setup screen of the tool it will show and allow you change the password
    now I just need to find that tool
    this was for a A45-S151 P4 3.3ghz laptop the only other option was to flash a bios chip and replace the old chip with the new chip as thats where the password is stored
     
  11. bazznet

    bazznet MDL Novice

    Jun 21, 2010
    2
    0
    0
    Hi chevy

    Where did you find the service manual ? I too have this problem with an older Toshiba Satellite A135. Goggling reveals it is a known bug in these older Toshiba bios but mine is out of warranty and I'd rather not pay Toshiba to fix a problem with their own product. Apparently it can be fixed by them so surely the method must be " out there somewhere LOL"

    Cheers
    bAZZ
     
  12. comandoed

    comandoed MDL Novice

    Feb 20, 2008
    25
    1
    0
    I have a similar problem with a Toshiba Tecra A6-EZ6311. Asking
    for BIOS password even though this model was not included in
    the ones with the factory defect. If you find a solution can you
    email me solution. My profile name here is COMANDOED.
    Thanks
     
  13. RawData

    RawData MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2008
    221
    30
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...