trying to activate with win 8 pro pack key

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by pauldamo, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    i bought win 8 pro pack product key,cost me $58,i actually was under the impression i could activate win 8 with it,anyway i installed win 8 pro with the default pro key and added wmc with default wmc key,i replaced the data file in the store file,and then used command to enter my bought win 8 pro pack key,but i get an error saying error on a windows non-core edition,is there any way around this,please.
     
  2. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    First off, "Pro Pack" is for Windows 8 Core to Windows 8 Pro with WMC, i don't know why you bought that.. should have bought "Windows 8 Pro Upgrade" instead.

    1. Open RegEdit goto "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE"
    2. Change "MediaBootInstall" to "0"
    3. Start CMD as Administrator and type in "slmgr /rearm"
    4. Restart
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
  4. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    well that didn't work either,has to be activated first,and core can't be activated on kms server,stupid salesperson that i bought it from.
     
  5. Puffingmad

    Puffingmad MDL Addicted

    Aug 19, 2012
    500
    229
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    and what... he needs and activated core version of windows 8... its better to try what shenj suggested... that will work probably... or go for a refund if possible (for pro pack and upgrade I don't know) and then buy a upgrade or a full retail license
     
  7. Puffingmad

    Puffingmad MDL Addicted

    Aug 19, 2012
    500
    229
    30
    Sorry I meant get a refund and download from here
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    i have the rtm,i thought it all depends on what key you used,i installed with the default pro key first,the second time with the default core key,it looks like i cant use the key i bought at all.
     
  9. Puffingmad

    Puffingmad MDL Addicted

    Aug 19, 2012
    500
    229
    30
    Then as adit123ty said I would try and get a refund
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    the default core key will not activate windows u need an activated windows to use upgrade/pro pack/WMC key... so as suggested contact MS and get a refund for that key... then buy an upgrade using upgrade assistant if u have an genuine windows XP/vista/7 installed or buy a full retail key
     
  11. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    what actually is the result in doing this,does it revert it to just pro without wmc,
     
  12. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    no it used to allow use of windows 8 pro upgrade key even when doing a fresh install... don't know if it allows u to use po pack key on it by doing that... people tried using that method with proWMC key on a pro edition but didn't help
     
  13. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    thanks everyone for your help.