[Tutorial] My experience with cleaning matte finished monitors.

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by QuantumBug, Jan 7, 2016.

1. QuantumBug

QuantumBug MDL Developer

Mar 7, 2012
    #1 QuantumBug, Jan 7, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2016
    Just a little help seems its taken me time to get this down; yet all along it was so simple.

For ages I've been using all of these fancy sprays, everyone asks me to clean their monitors knowing I'm a hardware engineer, but they never work properly. Not to mention the ample amounts of cloths wasted... so here we go.

1. Get yourself a pack of cheap micro-fiber cloths (two needed)
    2. Unplug your monitor always
    3. Soak one micro-fiber cloth with warm water (not hot) and squeeze it out to make sure it does NOT drip! If it leaks into your monitor it's your fault, not mine :D
    4. Rub gently in a circular motion and make sure to get into those annoying corners.
    5. Once you're happy with the cleaning, take a dry micro-fiber cloth and rub in a circular motion and keep going until the water has dissipated.

If there are any stubborn greasy patches left rub them in a circular motion again and dry again, they should disappear. Let me know how you get on and please don't electrocute yourself, I did say don't let the cloth drip.

To answer some questions:

1. Pure Isopropyl alcohol can wear away finishes and leave permanent white smudges, therefor I don't even use it on glass
    2. Glass cleaners like windex do not work and can damage your screen, especially matte front monitors, this is due to containing harsh chemicals
    3. Disposable towels can scratch your screen, so I agree with Antilope (thanks); do not use tissue or disposable kitchen towels. If your micro-fiber cloth is clean it's the best thing to use
    4. The best and only way for me has been warm water, if you don't have warm water use cold or boil the kettle and wait for it to cool.